Jump to content
  • 0

Runner passes another runner.


mrumpiresir

Question

22 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

The 2013 Wendelstedt manual says this about one runner passing another (p. 161):

Passing by a runner occurs when a following runner completely passes (with his core body) a preceding runner while running along the baselines. It does not matter which runner actually does the passing, only that they physically passed one another.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
On 7/3/2021 at 1:11 PM, The Man in Blue said:

Thanks again Mr. Wendelstadt ... is it “COMPLETELY” or is it “WITH HIS CORE BODY”?  Those are two very different things.  🤨

No need to worry about 20 foot flowing locks of hair I guess.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

Entire torso, 4/5 torso, 3/4 torso...man, I don't know how some of you folks can officiate like that, even assuming you have the proper angle. I'd need a laser, protractor, plumb bob, calipers.... As they say, sometimes, you just gotta umpire.

  • Like 1
  • Haha 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
12 minutes ago, LRZ said:

Entire torso, 4/5 torso, 3/4 torso...man, I don't know how some of you folks can officiate like that, even assuming you have the proper angle. I'd need a laser, protractor, plumb bob, calipers.... As they say, sometimes, you just gotta umpire.

Yeah - it's all good with instant replay and photo finish technology...in real time with the naked eye, it better be obvious.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
1 hour ago, LRZ said:

Entire torso, 4/5 torso, 3/4 torso...man, I don't know how some of you folks can officiate like that, even assuming you have the proper angle. I'd need a laser, protractor, plumb bob, calipers.... As they say, sometimes, you just gotta umpire.

You'd better see daylight between them. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
11 hours ago, beerguy55 said:

No need to worry about 20 foot flowing locks of hair I guess.

 

Now, that would make it easy.

In that case, as long as the entire frosted tips had somewhat mostly passed (even slightly), it doesn't matter where the dark roots are showing.  So then, the question is, how far down the hair did the player have his hairdresser frost it?  THAT is the magic point.  On Tuesdays.  In the Southern Hemisphere.  In countries that have more than two "A"s in their name (as determined by their native language, not English).  (Crediting that citation to an e-mail between Herb Friday and an unnamed Red Sox executive who may or may not have hacked into the e-mails of the Chicago Tornadoes professional cricket team.)  

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
10 hours ago, LRZ said:

Entire torso, 4/5 torso, 3/4 torso...man, I don't know how some of you folks can officiate like that, even assuming you have the proper angle. I'd need a laser, protractor, plumb bob, calipers.... As they say, sometimes, you just gotta umpire.

 

8 hours ago, Rich Ives said:

You'd better see daylight between them. 

If you are seeing daylight between 3/4 of his torso and 4/5 of his torso, I think you have other problems to worry about.

  • Haha 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
10 hours ago, The Man in Blue said:

 

If you are seeing daylight between 3/4 of his torso and 4/5 of his torso, I think you have other problems to worry about.

You misinterpreted. It means be sure the runner is completely past, hence making a space for daylight to pass through.

  • Sad 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

The problem with abbreviated answers--of which I am often guilty--is that they are often cryptic. "Completely passes" focuses on the runners; "seeing daylight" provides a less clear or objective standard, seemingly focused on the umpire's POV.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

So ... the joke is out because the complete and 75% of total approximate midpoint (meaning the whole thing) of the tip passed him?  But the tail (or LINE SEGMENT!) is still partially all the way behind the front of him.

 

Thank you for not using a navy-colored arrow!  😁

  • Haha 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
17 hours ago, ArchAngel72 said:

All I want to know is if one runner passes another one how much toilet paper does that need?  I mean heck that sounds like surgery or at least stiches.. 

I'm sure the discussion will now evolve to talk about a lodged ball.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...