Jump to content

Good Enough for Summer Ball


NavyBlue
Umpire-Empire locks topics which have not been active in the last year. The thread you are viewing hasn't been active in 733 days so you will not be able to post. We do recommend you starting a new topic to find out what's new in the world of umpiring.

Recommended Posts

8 hours ago, NavyBlue said:

Hopefully the image will 1201947077_DoubleLines.jpeg.c6c459830694567e60ba78dbd311e29c.jpegcome through this time.  Like  I said, might as well fail a second time!

I don't see a problem here. :fuel:

   Did you actually call anything along the line?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

We had one get close, about two feet on the fair territory side, so it wasn't controversial.  

This is a NCAA D3 field.  School is hosting a select/travel tournament.  The guy that laid down the "line(s)" (who shall remain un-named) wanted to get the lines down the night before, BUT, the school had a "lights out policy" for that night in support of an Astronomy program, so the field lights could not be turned on.  He figured he'd done this enough times that he could literally do it in the dark.  He got 3B line done just fine.  On the 1B line he fell victim to the string getting caught up on the striping machine and drifting off course, and he didn't notice it in the dark naturally.  You'd think the second attempt, now weary of "string drift" would go better, but no, it did not.  All the coaches were good sports about it (probably because we didn't have any close calls though!).

  • Haha 3
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 year later...
I would have said get out there with some green paint and touch that up a bit either that or give me enough whiskey to make those 2 lines look like 1...
 


Nah, automatic triple if a batted ball hits in those tiny little wedges between the 2 lines.
  • Haha 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

18 hours ago, Catch18 said:


Nah, automatic triple if a batted ball hits in those tiny little wedges between the 2 lines.emoji457.pngemoji457.pngemoji457.png

Oh no way is that worth only a triple.

 

That there is the rare double dinger. you hit home and start a trot right around the bases again of course its worth 2 runs plus whomever was on base.

 

 

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...