Jump to content

Umpire tells runner to stay on the base?


Recommended Posts

https://www.closecallsports.com/2021/06/mlb-ejection-072-sean-barber-dusty.html?m=1

So, a lot going on in this game...

My question is...John Tumpane (U2) can be seen motioning to the runner at 2B to stay on the base. The runner thinks Tumpane called him out, when in fact he is signaling an IFF. Is this correct for Tumpane to do this? (motioning the runner to stay on the base?)

Teams have two base coaches. (And in this case manager Cora is also motioning from the dugout for the runner to stay there) Shouldn't the runner be relying on his coaches to tell him what to do?

Is this an MLB level courtesy by Tumpane? If this is good mechanics from Tumpane, how far down does this translate to? Varsity?

~Dawg

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It kinda looks like Tumpane gives a mini-safe mechanic to the runner on 2nd before motioning for him to stay put. Fwiw, I think a safe mechanic (point, then "safe") would be more appropriate. Info, not instruction.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

That's a bit of CYA I'd say. Dude cones off and they tag him, now Cora comes out and says "you were making an out signal towards him! Of course he thought he's out!". If you tell him to stay there and he then steps off, that's on him. It's a confusing situation. This was a part of Tumpane (who like... Wow, what an umpire. This at was awesome) untangling the situation for all involved

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

@Biscuit, not saying you're wrong but...why then wouldn't Baker come out on Tumpane and ask why he is "coaching" the runner to stay on the bag? The safe call is absolutely appropriate there and sufficient to provide both teams with the necessary information. If Cora, the base coaches and the runner all miss that...that's on them.

~Dawg

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, SeeingEyeDog said:

@Biscuit, not saying you're wrong but...why then wouldn't Baker come out on Tumpane and ask why he is "coaching" the runner to stay on the bag? The safe call is absolutely appropriate there and sufficient to provide both teams with the necessary information. If Cora, the base coaches and the runner all miss that...that's on them.

~Dawg

Because he wasn't coaching the runner.  He was clearing up the situation by saying, "Stay there. You're ok".  Kind of like a guy stealing 2nd on a ball 4.  To clear it up you tell him ball 4 stay on the bag.  

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...