Jump to content

Batter hit by ricochet drop third strike


Recommended Posts

I witnessed a case where a dropped third strike hit hard off the backstop bounced back down the first base line and struck the batter in the back of the leg while running toward first base, well out of the batters box if it matters. What should the ruling be?

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

This isn’t a Professional baseball game, is it?  As long as it’s not, and the Batter (or, BR) isn’t intentionally, deliberately propelling it away from him or any fielder trying to get to it... t

2019 NFHS Case Book Play 8.4.1 Situation I:  B1 swings and misses a pitch for strike three. The ball ricochets from F2’s mitt and rolls several feet down the first-base line in fair territory. As F2 g

This isn’t a Professional baseball game, is it? 

As long as it’s not, and the Batter (or, BR) isn’t intentionally, deliberately propelling it away from him or any fielder trying to get to it... then play on, that’s nothing. 

It’s not a batted ball, so where the BR is when it touches him is largely inconsequential. After hitting the backstop, it (definitely) is no longer a pitch, so it’s not like the Batter would be HBP. Aside from a Professional game – wherein no backstop exists that could create a situation like the one you describe – the Batter cannot be guilty of INT on a U3K by touching that loose ball, unless it is blatantly intentional. Getting beaned in the ol’ hamstring on a ricochet?? 

Play on, guys, play on.

  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

It was quite comical and surprising to watch. I was the first base coach at the time. The BR was running full out trying to make it safely to first, with no idea the ball was coming. Unfortunately the home plate umpire immediately called the BR out due to the contact with the ball, and had no interest in discussing the ruling further.

Link to post
Share on other sites

2019 NFHS Case Book Play 8.4.1 Situation I:  B1 swings and misses a pitch for strike three. The ball ricochets from F2’s mitt and rolls several feet down the first-base line in fair territory. As F2 goes for the ball, B1 accidentally kicks or steps on the ball. RULING:  If, in the judgment of the umpire, B1 did not intentionally interfere, then the ball remains alive and the play stands.

  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

The rule the case play is based on, 2019 NFHS rule 8-4-1a, tells us the interference has to be intentional on this kind of play. So the umpire in your play was wrong.

SECTION 4 RUNNER IS OUT

ART. 1 . . . The batter-runner is out when:

a. he intentionally interferes with the catcher’s attempt to field the ball after a third strike;

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...