Jump to content

Runner is out when...


johnnyg08

Recommended Posts

8-4-1a

The batter-runner is out when:

a. he intentionally interferes with the catcher's attempt to field the ball after a third strike

I can't remember, is the rule still exactly as it reads or did the Fed give a "clearly hindered" clarification like OBR and NCAA?

By rule...it's pretty clear that we still need intent. 

What says the group?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Here’s the official interpretation that can be found in the 2016 BRD (section 290, p. 190):

OBR Official Interpretation:  Wendelstedt:  After ball four, a batter becomes a runner. Since the ball is not batted, any hindrance that occurs on the catcher or the catcher’s throw must be intentional for interference to be called.

For the FED the BRD states that there is no provision and to treat it as in OBR.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...