Jump to content

BR's touch at 3rd--who's got it?


Recommended Posts

R-1 and R-2. Batter clocks one to the gap in left on a field with no fence and the OB Track & Field track way out there. I start heading toward the 3rd baseline extended for a contested play on BR at the plate as BR rounds 3rd, so I'm 95 feet away from 3rd. I can't tell if BR misses 3rd or hits the inside front corner. BR safe at the plate. Immediate appeal after play for missing 3rd, and my partner on the bases immediately upholds the appeal and calls BR out (lead to the eventual ejection of his father once his yelling turned into calling the BU profane things--don't worry, we had the Home HC perform the act after consulting with the HC--no site supervisor there).

Have always pre-gamed that PU has all touches at 3rd. But, it certainly makes sense that BU would have BR's touch at 3rd, since he's got BR into 3rd. Never thought about it before. That seems to be the logical exception to the general rule that PU has all touches at 3rd. At the time of the appeal, I assumed it was my call as PU, but glad my partner immediately made the call, because he was right there and clearly saw the miss.

We got the call right, just not sure that we got the mechanics right. Had they appealed to me, I would have gotten together, because I was a mile away, and my partner was positioned for a play on BR at 3rd. What say the experts??

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

I picked this up from Jim Evans, either my notes from a Desert Classic or his “Maximizing the 2 Umpire System. It’s how I train and brief and I don’t think I’ve seen it in any other manual. “PU has al

You each had an angle on the touch. With nothing else to watch, you both saw it. So far, so good.

One umpire is primary and one is secondary. Your partner apparently was sure enough the BR missed 3B to rule on the appeal. 

It might still be worth getting together, depending on how sure you were that he touched.

Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, maven said:

You each had an angle on the touch. With nothing else to watch, you both saw it. So far, so good.

One umpire is primary and one is secondary. Your partner apparently was sure enough the BR missed 3B to rule on the appeal. 

It might still be worth getting together, depending on how sure you were that he touched.

I'm going to say that getting together here depends on how sure the partner was. This is their primary.

Link to post
Share on other sites
31 minutes ago, SeeingEyeDog said:

I like the optics of getting together here. If only to discuss Ginger or Mary Anne...

Your partner had it, you didn't...and the crew got the call correct.

In addition to pre-gaming who has touches at 3rd, it sounds like adding appeals might also be worth discussing.

Thanks for sharing this, @Recontra.

~Dawg

I picked this up from Jim Evans, either my notes from a Desert Classic or his “Maximizing the 2 Umpire System. It’s how I train and brief and I don’t think I’ve seen it in any other manual. “PU has all touches and tags at 3B except for the BR touch.” BU has that since he’s going to be there and has no other bases to cover anymore. I don’t see a need to get together if you both are aware of the responsibilities. 

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...