Jump to content
  • 0

Balk?


Guest Phil

Question

Guest Phil

NFHS.   Runner on 3rd base.  Can a RHP while engaged on the rubber step towards 3rd and not throw the ball?  Basically a fake pick off attempt?  Same situation for a LHP stepping towards 1B while still engaged on the rubber and not making the throw?  I believe this is a balk.  However, in NFHS rules, the fake 3rd and turn to 1b  (the Jeff Nelson) is allowed?  

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Answers 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Days

Top Posters For This Question

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
4 minutes ago, Guest Phil said:

NFHS.   Runner on 3rd base.  Can a RHP while engaged on the rubber step towards 3rd and not throw the ball?  Basically a fake pick off attempt?  Same situation for a LHP stepping towards 1B while still engaged on the rubber and not making the throw?  I believe this is a balk.  However, in NFHS rules, the fake 3rd and turn to 1b  (the Jeff Nelson) is allowed?  

You can NOT feint to first unless you DISENGAGE the rubber.

What you describe in NFHS is not a balk.  It's a legal move. You can still feint to 3rd, and the 3rd to 1st move is still legal also.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...