Jump to content
  • 0

Runner advancing on called 3rd strike


Guest TJR

Question

Guest TJR

Batter has a count of 3-2 with runner in first base.  On the next pitch, batter has half-swing.  Home plate umpire calls ball 4 and the player on 1st goes to second.  A late appeal is made to the field umpire who calls the swing a strike out.  If time is not called during the appeal, can the player stay on second base (ie he essentially stole 2nd on the strikeout)?

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Answers 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Days

Top Posters For This Question

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
1 hour ago, Guest TJR said:

Batter has a count of 3-2 with runner in first base.  On the next pitch, batter has half-swing.  Home plate umpire calls ball 4 and the player on 1st goes to second.  A late appeal is made to the field umpire who calls the swing a strike out.  If time is not called during the appeal, can the player stay on second base (ie he essentially stole 2nd on the strikeout)?

A. Time should not be called for this appeal. 

B. The runner keeps second. It's on the players to know the call could be changed (likewise, had the runner slowed down on the call and been tagged, he would have been out once it was changed.)

C. When there's a potential check-swing appeal with two strikes, PU needs to ask immediately and avoid this.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

The FED handles this situation differently from OBR/NCAA—

2018 NFHS rule 10 SECTION 2 UMPIRE-IN-CHIEF

ART. 3 . . . His duties include those listed in 10-2-1, 2 and the following:

l. Rectify any situation in which an umpire’s decision that was reversed has placed either team at a disadvantage.

2019 NFHS Case Book Play 10.2.3 Situation H:  With a count of three balls and two strikes on B2 and R1 on first base, the batter takes what appears to be a half swing. The plate umpire calls ball four and R1, upon hearing ball four, then trots to second base. The catcher asks the plate umpire to check with the base umpire to see if B2 did, in fact, attempt to hit the pitch. The base umpire indicates that the batter did swing at the ball. RULING:  The plate umpire will declare the batter out and return R1 to first base. The umpire-in-chief can rectify any situation in which an umpire’s decision that was reversed has placed a base runner in jeopardy.

10.2.3 Situation I:  With a count of three balls and two strikes on B1 and no runners on base, the pitch is made and the batter takes what appears to be a half swing. The plate umpire calls ball four as the ball gets away from F2. B1 trots to first base and F2 throws the ball to F3, who tags B1 prior to his reaching the base. F2 asks the plate umpire to check with the base umpire to see if it was a strike. The base umpire indicates that B1 did swing at the ball. RULING:  If, in the judgment of the umpire-in-chief, B1 would have reached first base before the throw if it had not been called ball four, the plate umpire can award B1 first base. The umpire-in-chief can rectify any situation in which an umpire’s decision has placed a batter-runner in jeopardy.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...