Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Right? Read the citation again. According to the vernacular of this section, a coach/manager/batter has a case for HBP if that spiked pitch bounces off the catcher’s CP and subsequently hits (touches) the batter’s helmet, or shoulder, or foot... 

OBR:  Official Interpretation:  Wendelstedt:  The pitch ends when the ball delivered by the pitcher is either caught by the catcher, is hit by the batter, touches the batter before being deflected, or goes (or would have gone) out of play on its own or its deflected momentum. (2013 WRIM, p. 8)

George Demetriou wrote in the 2019-2020 College Baseball Rules Study Guide (p. 158) “there is no clear definition of when a pitch ends that can be applied in all situations…Although unwritten, a batter loses the right to swing at the pitch when it first passes the plate. Thus a pitch that touches the bat on the follow through or after deflecting off the catcher or umpire is not a batted ball. Likewise, if the batter is hit by such a deflected ball, it is not considered hit by pitch.”

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Is it? Seems like garden-variety catcher INT to me. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ If the batter's in the box he's entitled to an unhindered opportunity to hit the pitch. That includes pro hitter's efforts to foul of

Rule 2-28 ART. 4 . . . A pitch ends when the pitched ball: a. is secured by the catcher, b. comes to rest, c. goes out of play, d. becomes dead, e. or the batter hits the ball

Here at U-E the most used definition of when a pitch ends is the FED definition found in its rule 2-28-4-- 2019 FED rule 2-28-4 A pitch ends when the pitched ball: a. Is secured by the

10 hours ago, Senor Azul said:

there is no clear definition of when a pitch ends that can be applied in all situations…Although unwritten, a batter loses the right to swing at the pitch when it first passes the plate. Thus a pitch that touches the bat on the follow through or after deflecting off the catcher or umpire is not a batted ball. Likewise, if the batter is hit by such a deflected ball, it is not considered hit by pitch.”

Wow. Well... I think George summed it up beautifully. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
On 5/5/2021 at 5:24 PM, Senor Azul said:

 

George Demetriou wrote in the 2019-2020 College Baseball Rules Study Guide (p. 158) “there is no clear definition of when a pitch ends that can be applied in all situations…Although unwritten, a batter loses the right to swing at the pitch when it first passes the plate. Thus a pitch that touches the bat on the follow through or after deflecting off the catcher or umpire is not a batted ball. Likewise, if the batter is hit by such a deflected ball, it is not considered hit by pitch.”

Now we have both a rule AND an interpretation that suggests once the pitch is past the batter and in the catcher's mitt, he no longer has the opportunity to hit the pitch. So, again, how can the OP be catcher's interference?

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...