Jump to content

why not an over the fence HR/rather than inside the park HR


Recommended Posts

the ball was caught in the glove over the fence and was being pulled back in the glove towards the field, when it dropped out of the glove over/behind the vertical plain of the fence, with the glove over the yellow padding in the picture. But the momentum of the ball back towards the field, kept bringing the ball back into the field of play after it had been touching an object over the fence (the glove) when it originally fell out. Obviously if he kept control it is ok to have the glove over the plane and the ball over the plane to rob the hitter of a home run, but when the ball fell out of the glove on the HR side of the plane of the fence should the play have been a home-run over the fence and not an inside-the-park home run at that point. And obviously if the runner had not stopped going around the bases, would this not have been ruled a HR anyway by IR once the ball fell out over the plane. Or??? could all fielders just use their closed glove as a Dikembe Mutombo swatting device, to just swat batted balls that have broken the back plane of the fence going into the stands, back into the field and then field the balls to continue the play.

867404975_ScreenShot2021-04-04at7_56_47AM.thumb.png.7075889e31ac18602b0543ce225cf305.png

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

From the 2017 Jaksa/Roder manual (p. 64):

If an airborne batted ball passes over the fence over fair DBT and strikes DBT it is a home run.

The Rockies left fielder prevented the airborne batted ball from touching any dead ball territory—the ball only touched the fielder’s glove. The left fielder prevented an out-of-the-park home run but when he was injured he could not prevent an IPHR.

Link to post
Share on other sites
15 hours ago, dumbdumb said:

could all fielders just use their closed glove as a Dikembe Mutombo swatting device, to just swat batted balls that have broken the back plane of the fence going into the stands, back into the field and then field the balls to continue the play.

Yep, that's perfectly legal.

Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/4/2021 at 6:14 AM, dumbdumb said:

But the momentum of the ball back towards the field, kept bringing the ball back into the field of play after it had been touching an object over the fence (the glove) when it originally fell out.

The glove is not an "object"...if worn properly it's part of the player.  If the ball has only touched the player it's still in flight, even over the fence...it's status is not determined until it hits something else, either in the field or in DBT.

Link to post
Share on other sites
40 minutes ago, SeeingEyeDog said:

So, a sno-cone catch with a portion of the ball projecting out of the fielder's glove which then strikes something in fair DBT would be a HR?

~Dawg

So, a sno-cone catch with a portion of the ball projecting out of the fielder's glove which then strikes the ground would be a catch?

 

Same answer.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...