Jump to content
  • 0

Does runner score on tripleplay


Guest RFK13

Question

Guest RFK13

Hello, my questios is, base are loaded with no outs. Fly to LF runner from third goes to tag up, LF makes catch for first out, throws to second because runner ran to third without tagging up for second out and then second baseman throws to first base because that runner also ran without tagging up. So they completed the tripleplay. Does the runner from third base as the only one to tag up on the play score, does his run count or does the triple play eliminate that. Thank You

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Answers 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Posts

Agree, except I'd call it a time play.

If the throw to 1st does not beat the runner crossing the plate the run scores. Its not a force out it is an appeal play and thus a timing play.  

yep  

10 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
26 minutes ago, ArchAngel72 said:

If the throw to 1st does not beat the runner crossing the plate the run scores.

Its not a force out it is an appeal play and thus a timing play.

 

Agree, except I'd call it a time play.

icon_speedbanana.gif

  • Haha 2
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
4 hours ago, philaump said:

The run scores.  

Since the second out was made at 2nd base, the third out becomes a time play

umm...what?   The third out here is a time play regardless.  All (OK...almost all) appeal plays pertaining to runners who "left early" are time plays.   The only time such an appeal play would not matter to time is if the runner who left early was a preceding runner....eg. R3 leaves early, R2 scores, appeal R3 for third out.

 

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

FED Rule is 9.1 Exception:

"A run is not scored if the runner advances to home plate during action in which the third out is made as follows:

c. by a preceding runner who is declared out upon appeal because he failed to touch one of the bases or left a base too soon on a caught fly ball; 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
6 minutes ago, Recontra said:

FED Rule is 9.1 Exception:

"A run is not scored if the runner advances to home plate during action in which the third out is made as follows:

c. by a preceding runner who is declared out upon appeal because he failed to touch one of the bases or left a base too soon on a caught fly ball; 

That rule has nothing to do with the play in question.  In the play, R1 was the third out; he was not a "preceding runner" to R3.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Just now, noumpere said:

That rule has nothing to do with the play in question.  In the play, R1 was the third out; he was not a "preceding runner" to R3.

And to take it a step further, the order of outs may matter with multiple appeals.

If R2 was the only runner to legally tag and score, and the order of appeals went R3 then R1, the run would still count. If the order was R1 then R3, then it wouldn't.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
13 minutes ago, Matt said:

And to take it a step further, the order of outs may matter with multiple appeals.

If R2 was the only runner to legally tag and score, and the order of appeals went R3 then R1, the run would still count. If the order was R1 then R3, then it wouldn't.

Likewise in multiple missed base appeals, if you do them in the wrong order you'll remove the force.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
9 minutes ago, beerguy55 said:

Likewise in multiple missed base appeals, if you do them in the wrong order you'll remove the force.

I deliberately didn't go there for two reasons:

1. It's getting a bit off-topic for this particular area (I don't want to turn the firehose on too strongly for a new person.)

2. It's not true in all codes (depending on to what you're referring.)

Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...