Suspend for darkness - criteria

McMike
Umpire-Empire locks topics which have not been active in the last year. The thread you are viewing hasn't been active in 1211 days so you will not be able to post. We do recommend you starting a new topic to find out what's new in the world of umpiring.

Hi.  Due to mountain ridges in our area, the sun drops from the horizon early, but we still have a long time of ambient light afterwards.  In fact, after the sun drops is actually safer than the half hour before, due to the low sun directly in players' eyes.  However, as a result of this, true darkness sort of creeps up on us later.

Recently a game came up where the coaches were pushing to keep playing even though it was clearly unsafe.  I was looking for some specific criteria to use, to better argue for ending the game.  So instead of just saying "it's too dang dark," I can point to more concrete examples.

I am a coach, not an ump, but this was a scrimmage and there was no ump in official charge.

Concrete reasons:

1. Players are complaining that they cannot pick up the ball.

2. Ask coach to watch from first base or behind home and see if I can pick up the ball.

3. Fielders are getting sloppy.

4. See if I can read the batter's jersey number from second base.

5. Cars have their headlights on. (definitely already too late)

6. Homes have their interior lights on.

Any other creative ideas for how to "prove" this, so it is harder to argue with?  I wonder if there is some sort of concrete test that will kill the conversation: some version of "how many fingers am I holding up"

One of the specific problems was the remaining ambient light behind the batter made it even worse for the fielders, since the batter/catcher were in comparative darkness and backlit by the alpenglow.  However, the dugouts had their backs to the glow, and so the coaches' vision was (marginally) better.