Jump to content
Jimurray

El Mago scores from 1B on a strikeout

Recommended Posts

no BI-catcher moved quickly over to his left and had quick and unhindered release and follow through before the batter might have leaned into him and made contact. had catcher gone up the middle of the plate, he would have been more likely to have been interfered with by the batter leaning in and would have hit him or his arm or hand on release. But if the rule says that is BI on the play, then it is BI.

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, dumbdumb said:

no BI-catcher moved quickly over to his left and had quick and unhindered release and follow through before the batter might have leaned into him and made contact. had catcher gone up the middle of the plate, he would have been more likely to have been interfered with by the batter leaning in and would have hit him or his arm or hand on release. But if the rule says that is BI on the play, then it is BI.

 

 

 

You are fine tuning and rationalizing because it’s an MLB ump. That should be called BI

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Jimurray said:

You are fine tuning and rationalizing because it’s an MLB ump. That should be called BI

Same answer no matter what level or who umpire is. But if by rule that should be BI, then it is BI no matter the umpire or level and the MLB umpire missed it.

If I am wrong and missed it then I am wrong and missed it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 hours ago, Jimurray said:

You are fine tuning and rationalizing because it’s an MLB ump. That should be called BI

I have a hunch, Jim, that if we change the context to a NCAA game – different uniforms, different umpires, same situation – that gets called BI more often than not.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 9/16/2020 at 9:51 PM, dumbdumb said:

no BI-catcher moved quickly over to his left and had quick and unhindered release and follow through before the batter might have leaned into him and made contact. had catcher gone up the middle of the plate, he would have been more likely to have been interfered with by the batter leaning in and would have hit him or his arm or hand on release. But if the rule says that is BI on the play, then it is BI.

 

 

 

Agree.

 

Can't be interference if there was no hindrance. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, Rich Ives said:

Agree.

 

Can't be interference if there was no hindrance. 

The release was "unhindered" because he let it go early with a helmet in the way. I'm getting that at any level. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...