Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest DAG

sliding into 1st base

Question

Guest DAG

Our league only allows runners to head slide when retreating to a base but I am curious, can you head first slide into 1st base to avoid the tag?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
1 hour ago, Guest DAG said:

Our league only allows runners to head slide when retreating to a base but I am curious, can you head first slide into 1st base to avoid the tag?

Assuming you have accurately stated the rule, then the answer to the second part seems obvious -- if the runner is returning (as on a pick-off), it's allowed; if the runner is advancing (as on a throw that pulls F3 off the base), then it's not allowed.

 

Of course, to the extent this is a league rule and not the rule of some national body, then you'll have to ask the local league to be certain.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

If your league follows Little League, the answer is "no." Rule 7.08(4) and the comment on that rule in the LL Rules Instruction Manual (2018 edition) state that a player cannot slide head first to "a base while advancing," with no distinction made between bases. Otherwise, the answer may depend on the exact wording of your rule, thus noumpere's advice to ask the league for clarification.

The rule: A runner is out when "the runner slides head first while advancing."

The comment: "This rule does not apply when a runner is returning to a base, only when advancing to a base."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...