Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Cody

Defense leaves field with two outs

Question

Guest Cody

Saw an interesting play 14u usssa. R1 fly ball to right and the runner is going with crack of the bat. Fielder makes the catch as the runner rounds second and the whole defense  leaves the field. The runner sees this and also leaves the field. The umpires then conclude there are in fact only two outs. What happens?

ultimatley the crew decided to reset runner on first and resume play with two outs the next guy just grounded out so nothing traumatic happened.

the defensive team argued that it should have been abandoning. The second part of this is his arguement for abondoning was if a batter takes strike two and thinks it is strike three and heads to the dugout that he is then out. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
16 minutes ago, Guest Cody said:

The second part of this is his argument for abandoning was if a batter takes strike two and thinks it is strike three and heads to the dugout that he is then out. 

False.  It's true on an uncaught 3rd strike but not on strike 2.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Typically - Runner is out for abandonment, inning over.   If he had continued running the bases, and the defense returned to the field, he'd be liable to be put out on appeal for leaving early, if he didn't first return to first. (defense leaving the field only nullifies the ability to appeal at the end of the inning - which is not the case here)   If the defense had carried the ball off the field, it would get messy, but in the end, same result...runner would be awarded some base, and be liable to be put out on appeal...and in some codes may not be able to return to first.

What is interesting, though, is why everyone thought it was three out...in fact, the runner obviously thought there was two out when the ball was hit...and I'm assuming the coaches thought the same.  The entire defense obviously thought so.   If you have some weird scenario where the umpires explicitly told everyone there was two out just before the play...then resetting everyone is probably the right thing to do.

On the second question - if there are only two strikes it's nothing.  if it's an uncaught third strike he'd be out (typically once he leaves the dirt around the plate)

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
17 minutes ago, Guest Cody said:

Saw an interesting play 14u USSSA. R1 fly ball to right and the runner is going with crack of the bat. Fielder makes the catch as the runner rounds second and the whole defense  leaves the field. The runner sees this and also leaves the field. The umpires then conclude there are in fact only two outs. What happens?

Ultimately the crew decided to reset runner on first and resume play with two outs the next guy just grounded out so nothing traumatic happened.

the defensive team argued that it should have been abandoning. The second part of this is his argument for abandoning was if a batter takes strike two and thinks it is strike three and heads to the dugout that he is then out. 

Everybody on defense thought there were three outs. Everybody?  And the defense wants the offense punished?  In your dreams.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
16 hours ago, Guest Cody said:

Saw an interesting play 14u usssa. R1 fly ball to right and the runner is going with crack of the bat. Fielder makes the catch as the runner rounds second and the whole defense  leaves the field. The runner sees this and also leaves the field. The umpires then conclude there are in fact only two outs. What happens?

 

The defense took the ball off the field?  Then the runner is awarded two bases.

 

It's very much a situation not (quite) covered by the rules, so the umpire gets to decide -- and the solution seems reasonable

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...