Jump to content
  • 0
Guest Cal

batter who uses a courtesy runner

Question

Guest Cal

A batter uses a courtesy runner at first base during the first inning.  In the third inning, the same batter hits the ball to the fence and runs all the way to third base.  Should the runner have been forced to stop at second base?  Is there a rule that prevents the batter who uses a courtesy runner to run past second base on his own hit?  Finally, if there is a rule but the runner attempts to run past second base and is tagged out before reaching third base, will the out count or will this result in a dead ball and batter returns to second base since he was not allowed to advance past second?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

8 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

never heard of anything regarding courtesy runners not being able to run past first. it's purely a dead ball substitution. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Someone making stuff up. Courtesy runner has no effect in subsequent AB for the batter he ran for. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

This could be some sort of misguided local rule.  It fits the saying "local rules are made by fools!"

As the others have said, in general, having a courtesy runner has no impact on the player in subsequent at-bats.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Day game or night?

  • Like 1
  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Anytime I read an (absurd) question like this, I immediately recall Craig Ferguson, and the Late Late Show... 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
13 hours ago, Guest Cal said:

A batter uses a courtesy runner at first base during the first inning.  In the third inning, the same batter hits the ball to the fence and runs all the way to third base.  Should the runner have been forced to stop at second base?  Is there a rule that prevents the batter who uses a courtesy runner to run past second base on his own hit?  Finally, if there is a rule but the runner attempts to run past second base and is tagged out before reaching third base, will the out count or will this result in a dead ball and batter returns to second base since he was not allowed to advance past second?

This sounds like some half-witted neighborhood slow pitch rule to address past abuses - ie. player isn't really hurt, or doesn't really have "weak knees"...he's just slow.  In short - if you're too fat and decrepit to run the bases, you're too fat and decrepit to run the bases.

I'm guessing the batter in question was 280 pounds, and wears wristbands, and two knee braces...and he reached first base in the first inning by taking a walk on four pitches that missed the mat by less than an inch.

In short, you'd have to check with your league...99.9% of slow pitch players (let alone fast pitch and baseball) do not play by this kind of rule.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...