Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Cosner

Pitcher stumbles in windup and stops. Resets no runners on base

Question

Guest Cosner

Pitcher stumbles in windup and stops. resets no runners on base

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

From the 2013 Wendelstedt Rules and Interpretations Manual (section 6.1.3, p. 95):

If the pitcher stops his pitching motion in either position with no runners on base, there is no penalty. The pitcher and batter will start over from scratch.

Play P567:  No one on, one out, 1-2 count. The pitcher, from the Wind-Up Position, starts his motion, but stops halfway through. He then re-engages the rubber and begins to take signs again.

Ruling:  With no runners on base, there is no violation.

The only cautionary note I would add is that there may be a violation of a delay rule. In high school and college games with no runners on the pitcher must deliver a pitch within 20 seconds. Under pro rules a pitcher must deliver within 12 seconds with no runners on. This delay rule is illustrated by the following high school case play—

2019 NFHS Case Book Play 6.1.2 Situation A:  With no runners on base, F1 starts his windup or preliminary motion and the ball slips from his hand. RULING:  There is no infraction provided F1 delivers a pitch within 20 seconds after he received the ball. If F1 fails to do so, the batter is awarded a ball. If there had been a runner or runners on base, dropping the ball while in contact with the pitcher’s plate is a balk if the ball did not cross the foul line. Each base runner shall be awarded one base.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
40 minutes ago, Senor Azul said:

2019 NFHS Case Book Play 6.1.2 Situation A:  With no runners on base, F1 starts his windup or preliminary motion and the ball slips from his hand. RULING:  There is no infraction provided F1 delivers a pitch within 20 seconds after he received the ball. If F1 fails to do so, the batter is awarded a ball. If there had been a runner or runners on base, dropping the ball while in contact with the pitcher’s plate is a balk if the ball did not cross the foul line. Each base runner shall be awarded one base.

Some umpires argue that this is different from a pitcher starting and stopping without dropping the ball. They claim that a ball should be awarded to the batter for an illegal pitch. My response is that it makes no sense that he can simply drop the ball to avoid the infraction. I wish Fed would publish an interpretation with the pitcher not dropping the ball to end that ridiculous view.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...