Jump to content
  • 0
Guest Pat

Pick off

Question

Guest Pat

Runner on 2nd, right handed pitcher.  Lifts leg to begin pitch, inside pivots to second, does he need to throw to 2nd or can he run at the runner?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
On 7/20/2020 at 6:43 AM, Guest Pat said:

Runner on 2nd, right handed pitcher.  Lifts leg to begin pitch, inside pivots to second, does he need to throw to 2nd or can he run at the runner?

Sounds like a balk from how you’ve described it. When you say he lifts his leg to begin to pitch, did he move his leg far enough to commit himself to throwing home?

 

If not, then once he pivots, he doesn’t have to do either of those things. It’s still legal to fake out a runner at second base.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
19 minutes ago, spark2212 said:

Sounds like a balk from how you’ve described it. When you say he lifts his leg to begin to pitch, did he move his leg far enough to commit himself to throwing home?

 

If not, then once he pivots, he doesn’t have to do either of those things. It’s still legal to fake out a runner at second base.

As long as the leg keeps moving toward second, the pitcher has not committed to throwing home.  He can't throw tho the base "behind" him, and once the foot passes the rubber (specifics on this vary by code) he can't throw to the base he is facing (third for a RH pitcher).  Only once the leg moves forward has he committed to the plate (assuming  nothing else has committed him to pitch).

 

NCAA has (or had) a pretty good description of this in the rules; it applies to all codes (with the exception of the exact criteria for free foot passing the ruber).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...