Jump to content
  • 0

Does the run count


Guest Muck town mike

Question

Guest Muck town mike

Players  on 2nd and 3rd, one out. Fly ball to right. Right fielder dives and makes the catch, runner on 3rd tags and scores. Defensive team appeals to 2nd base runner on 2nd called out for leaving early. Does the run count? Run scored before the appeal at 2nd.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Answers 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

6 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
11 hours ago, Guest Muck town mike said:

Players  on 2nd and 3rd, one out. Fly ball to right. Right fielder dives and makes the catch, runner on 3rd tags and scores. Defensive team appeals to 2nd base runner on 2nd called out for leaving early. Does the run count? Run scored before the appeal at 2nd.

Just because the defense only need tag the base at second to make the appeal DOES NOT make this a force out.  So, it's like many other plays on which the third out occurs -- if the run scires first, it counts.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

I’ve see this same exact question pop up on various discussion boards and forums at least a dozen times. And the answer is still the same...

This is a time play. If the run scores before the appeal, count the run. 

If the appeal was made before the run scores, then the run does not count. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...