Jump to content
  • 0

ITB SUBSTITUTIONS BEFORE ITB STARTS


Question

Is the below scenario legal?

 

The goal is to put my fastest runner on second base.  No substitutions were used at the end of the 7 inning game.  The last batter that was out was in the #4 position, so she would be placed on second base and the #5 batter would be at the plate.

We are the visitor team.  I want to go to the home umpire before the ITB game begins and place a substitute in my lineup at the #1 spot.  The #1 player (fastest player) is now in the substitution column.  I now want to substitute the girl on second base with the new substitute (former #1 player).  Is this legal?  If not, is there another way to do this? 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Answers 1
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Days

Top Posters For This Question

1 answer to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

No.  And ... no.  :D

You can use a substitute for the “placed runner”, but she would have to be a legal substitute.  If the “placed runner” is your pitcher or catcher, you could use a courtesy runner*.

The player that came out of the #1 position in the batting order can only re-enter in that same spot.

(And there is no “International” in the tiebreaker rule.  ;)  It’s just a tiebreaker rule.)

*Now that I have said that ... if the “placed runner” is your pitcher or catcher AND the tournament you are playing in is using the USA pool play rules, you could CR anybody you want.  Let me know if that is confusing.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...