Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest ump

dead ball

Question

Guest ump

ruling for a batted ball in fair territory rollong back and hitting a stationary bat in fair territory

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

14 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
20 minutes ago, Guest ump said:

ruling for a batted ball in fair territory rollong back and hitting a stationary bat in fair territory

What did the ball do after hitting the bat?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
7 hours ago, Guest ump said:

ruling for a batted ball in fair territory rollong back and hitting a stationary bat in fair territory

That's nothing, assuming you meant 'rolling'.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
16 hours ago, Gfoley4 said:

OBR ruling. "A batter is out when..."image.thumb.png.d984c1fdd52f47c6de0a3adfac127e30.png

 

Note that "the ball is alive and in play" as quoted above means "fair foul status is yet to be determined."  The ball will become fair / foul based on where it settles or where it's first touched by a player, or where it passes a base -- just as if the ball had not hit the bat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

It's nothing when the batted ball hits the bat. However, the defense will want it to be something (like INT, and an out). So a good mechanic is to signal safe and verbalize, "That's nothing!"

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Does it not matter whether there was intent of the batter to hit the ball again with a thrown or dropped bat?

What I mean is there is not enough description on the OP

did the batter toss or drop the bat and the ball rolled back into it or was the ball rolling back and the batter dropped and or tossed it to keep it fair?

me thinks there is more info needed

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
18 minutes ago, ArchAngel72 said:

Does it not matter whether there was intent of the batter to hit the ball again with a thrown or dropped bat?

No, intent doesn't matter.

Bat hits ball = INT.

Ball hits bat = nothing (with bat in fair).

OP said that ball hit bat in fair. That's nothing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
26 minutes ago, maven said:

No, intent doesn't matter.

Bat hits ball = INT.

Ball hits bat = nothing (with bat in fair).

OP said that ball hit bat in fair. That's nothing.

While intent with placing a bat to affect a fair ball is not addressed in the rule it is addressed in the MLBUM. If the batter tried to use the bat to cause his ball to go foul or stay fair it would be a dead ball, interference and runners return.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 hours ago, maven said:

No, intent doesn't matter.

Bat hits ball = INT.

Ball hits bat = nothing (with bat in fair).

OP said that ball hit bat in fair. That's nothing.

 

I don't believe that.

I think a player being wise could toss a bat on the ground in front of a rolling ball and that is intent to me  purposely causing a redirection or interaction of bat with the ball to me is intent

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
27 minutes ago, ArchAngel72 said:

 

I don't believe that.

I think a player being wise could toss a bat on the ground in front of a rolling ball and that is intent to me  purposely causing a redirection or interaction of bat with the ball to me is intent

You're giving most batters too much credit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

 

From the 2018 Minor League Baseball Umpire Manual (section 5.35, p. 57):  …If, in the umpire’s judgment, there is intent on the part of a baserunner to interfere with a batted ball (fair or foul) by dropping his helmet or bat or by throwing either at the ball, then the runner would be out, the ball dead, and runners would return to last base legally touched…

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 hours ago, Jimurray said:

While intent with placing a bat to affect a fair ball is not addressed in the rule it is addressed in the MLBUM. If the batter tried to use the bat to cause his ball to go foul or stay fair it would be a dead ball, interference and runners return.

The challenge was that the OP did not provide enough info, because we can't make a ruling without knowing the batter's intent, which the OP does not mention.

But that challenge is wrong: assuming no intent, we have enough info to make a ruling.

As with most INT, the situation changes when the offense clearly intends to interfere with the ball or a fielder. But that doesn't seem to be relevant here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, maven said:

The challenge was that the OP did not provide enough info, because we can't make a ruling without knowing the batter's intent, which the OP does not mention.

But that challenge is wrong: assuming no intent, we have enough info to make a ruling.

As with most INT, the situation changes when the offense clearly intends to interfere with the ball or a fielder. But that doesn't seem to be relevant here.

Yes, most of us would rule on the OP assuming no intent. But you said intent doesn't matter with a ball hitting a bat in fair territory. The rule only addresses a helmet placed intentionally. The MLBUM clarifies that an intentionally placed or thrown bat would be ruled the same as a helmet. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
16 hours ago, Jimurray said:

Yes, most of us would rule on the OP assuming no intent. But you said intent doesn't matter with a ball hitting a bat in fair territory. The rule only addresses a helmet placed intentionally. The MLBUM clarifies that an intentionally placed or thrown bat would be ruled the same as a helmet. 

In FED, intent might be the only thing that matters (old references; they might have changed):

8-4-1d. after hitting or bunting a ball, he intentionally contacts the ball with the bat a second time in fair or foul territory. The ball is dead and no runner(s) advance.

1. In the case of a foul ball, it must have a chance to become fair in the umpire's judgment.

2. If the bat and ball accidentally come in contact with each other a second time while the batter is holding the bat in the batter's box, it is a foul ball.

 

But, see also:

8.4.1 SITUATION A: After bunting the ball, B3's bat, which is still in his hand, unintentionally strikes the
ball a second time in fair territory while (a) he is still in the batter's box or (b) he is outside the batter's
box. RULING: In (a), it is a foul ball. In (b), the ball is dead and the batter is out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...