Jump to content
  • 0
Guest Jim English

Infield Fly Rule/Runner off base

Question

Guest Jim English

Runners on 1st and 2nd with 1 out; batter hits a popup to shortstop. Infield Fly Rule is called - batter out. 
Runner leaves 2nd base with ball in the air, and tries to go back when the infield fly is caught. The SS makes the catch and throws to 2nd to catch the runner off the base. Does the covering baseman have to tag the runner for the out, or just step on the base like any other fly out? (Does the infield fly change it at all?)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

6 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
20 minutes ago, Guest Jim English said:

Runners on 1st and 2nd with 1 out; batter hits a popup to shortstop. Infield Fly Rule is called - batter out. 
Runner leaves 2nd base with ball in the air, and tries to go back when the infield fly is caught. The SS makes the catch and throws to 2nd to catch the runner off the base. Does the covering baseman have to tag the runner for the out, or just step on the base like any other fly out? (Does the infield fly change it at all?)

.@Lou B is correct.     That being said, ... the only thing that changes with IFR is that it removes the force.  So if R1 or R2 tried to advance to the next base, they must be tagged.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
24 minutes ago, Thunderheads said:

.@Lou B is correct.     That being said, ... the only thing that changes with IFR is that it removes the force.  So if R1 or R2 tried to advance to the next base, they must be tagged.

 

If they left early could not the bag they left be tagged as well?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
2 minutes ago, ArchAngel72 said:

 

If they left early could not the bag they left be tagged as well?

of course ....... the force is just removed, that was really my only point to remember.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
18 minutes ago, Thunderheads said:

of course ....... the force is just removed, that was really my only point to remember.

 

21 minutes ago, ArchAngel72 said:

 

If they left early could not the bag they left be tagged as well?

That would be an uncommon goat rope. Leaving early on a caught infield fly but advancing to the next base as if the ball was dropped and they thought they were forced or maybe thinking there  were two outs.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
2 hours ago, Thunderheads said:

of course ....... the force is just removed, that was really my only point to remember.

Yes just pointing out that you stated "They must be tagged"  while yes they must be tagged at the next base but the option to put them out at the base they left is still an option.

I would not want someone who did not know to see what you had written and think "Oh they have to be tagged its the only way to get them out"  which well sigh sometimes happens in forums.

 

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...