Jump to content
  • 0

There's no rule against a Pitcher wearing a batting glove


Question

on his glove hand, is there?? If so, I've never read it.    Twice in the last 3 weeks I've had coaches ask me if it was legal for the pitcher to wear a batting glove underneath his glove...

I dont remember ever reading any rule prohibiting it.  I think its just unusual to see. 

 

Just checking.

 

  

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Answers 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Posts

The NCAA is the only code that has a specific rule (2019-2020 rule 9-2h) prohibiting the pitcher from wearing a batting glove under his fielder’s glove. Both the FED and OBR have official interpretati

For reference, here is the NFHS rule:    

And to add, if the offense doesn't say anything until after the inning, it's not distracting.

Posted Images

13 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

If you are talking little league, which covers Juniors to 14 yrs old:

Rule 1.00 Objectives of the game
1.15b)         No pitcher shall attach to the glove any foreign material of a color different from the glove. The pitcher may wear a batting glove on the non-pitching hand under the pitcher’s glove provided the batting glove is not white, gray, or optic yellow.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

No rules specific to batting gloves worn by pitchers in NFHS

Though as umpire you have the latitude to consider anything extra that's worn, as being distracting and thus not allowed.

I believe it's the same for NCAA,

While OBR has put out a reference specifically not allowing batting gloves under a pitcher's gloves.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

The NCAA is the only code that has a specific rule (2019-2020 rule 9-2h) prohibiting the pitcher from wearing a batting glove under his fielder’s glove. Both the FED and OBR have official interpretations. In FED it is umpire judgment whether the batting glove is a distraction or not—

2004 NFHS Baseball Rules Interpretation SITUATION 9: The starting pitcher has been wearing a batting glove under his fielding glove. In the fifth inning, the offensive coach complains that this is not legal and the pitcher must remove the batting glove. RULING: If U1 feels that the batting glove is distracting, he would instruct F1 to remove it. If U1 feels it is not distracting, F1 would continue to be able to wear it. The umpire has sole authority to judge whether or not an item is distracting. (6-2-1f Penalty)

2018 Minor League Baseball Umpire Manual (section 3.4, p. 32):

No pitcher shall be allowed to wear a batting glove while pitching. Other defensive players may wear a batting glove on their glove hand, but they shall not rub the ball with the batting glove on their hand.

  • Like 3
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1

There is a very important caveat to what the Little League rule is on a pitcher wearing a batting glove. Here’s what the 2019 LL RIM says about this question—

Rule 1.15(b) INSTRUCTOR’S COMMENTS:

If the pitcher wears a batting glove he/she may not then rub the ball while still wearing the batting glove. He/she is only permitted to rub up the ball between the bare hands. See Rule 8.02(a)(6).

8.02 - The pitcher shall not –

(6) deliver what is called the “shine” ball, “spit” ball, “mud” ball, or “emery” ball. The pitcher is allowed to rub off the ball between the bare hands;

2019 LL RIM 8.02(a)(6)

INSTRUCTOR’S COMMENTS:

If a pitcher were wearing a batting glove under his/her fielder’s glove, it would be very difficult to rub the ball “between the bare hands.” Simply, discourage the pitcher from wearing a batting glove and you avoid the problem.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Bump - had this twice in the tournament I was working this weekend.  The second time the offensive coach asked me to remove it on his way back from the coach's box between innings.  I went to the defensive coach before the next inning and told him to please have it removed.  It became a big issue that eventually had me restricting an assistant to the dugout.

I booted it because I thought the OBR rule applied to NFHS. Wrong.  I guess I was right if I actually thought it was a distraction but I didn't even notice it until the offensive coach and then his batter pointed it out.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
15 hours ago, agdz59 said:

It became a big issue that eventually had me restricting an assistant to the dugout.

If the coach has two brain cells to rub together it's not an issue of any size..."are you sure about that Blue?" "Yes" "OK, I'm protesting" - end of discussion.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
8 hours ago, beerguy55 said:

If the coach has two brain cells to rub together it's not an issue of any size..."are you sure about that Blue?" "Yes" "OK, I'm protesting" - end of discussion.

Hold on - I didn't say anything about the rules, I told the head coach the assistant coach (pitcher's dad) was warned when he complained to me by name in a voice loud enough for everyone to hear. I told the head coach he was the only one allowed to talk to me about a play.

Asst then came out to me between innings to tell me I was wrong in a whisper.  I then restricted him to the bench.  At no time did I mention my rational for requesting the removal.

If they protested, I would have said in my judgement, it was a distraction.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
13 hours ago, agdz59 said:

Hold on - I didn't say anything about the rules, I told the head coach the assistant coach (pitcher's dad) was warned when he complained to me by name in a voice loud enough for everyone to hear. I told the head coach he was the only one allowed to talk to me about a play.

Asst then came out to me between innings to tell me I was wrong in a whisper.  I then restricted him to the bench.  At no time did I mention my rational for requesting the removal.

If they protested, I would have said in my judgement, it was a distraction.

And if you actually read and understood my post you would know I was speaking about the coach, not you.   I'll say it again slowly...he simply needs to protest, not keep arguing about it...it's a rules dispute.

But now I will talk about you - if you have any integrity you will not make up a bullSH*# excuse about your judgment to avoid a protest, and save face.  You've already admitted here you didn't even notice the glove until the coach brought it up, and that you simply thought he wasn't allowed to wear it by rule.  Own it.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
2 hours ago, beerguy55 said:

And if you actually read and understood my post you would know I was speaking about the coach, not you.   I'll say it again slowly...he simply needs to protest, not keep arguing about it...it's a rules dispute.

But now I will talk about you - if you have any integrity you will not make up a bullSH*# excuse about your judgment to avoid a protest, and save face.  You've already admitted here you didn't even notice the glove until the coach brought it up, and that you simply thought he wasn't allowed to wear it by rule.  Own it.

And to add, if the offense doesn't say anything until after the inning, it's not distracting.

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
22 hours ago, beerguy55 said:

And if you actually read and understood my post you would know I was speaking about the coach, not you.   I'll say it again slowly...he simply needs to protest, not keep arguing about it...it's a rules dispute.

But now I will talk about you - if you have any integrity you will not make up a bullSH*# excuse about your judgment to avoid a protest, and save face.  You've already admitted here you didn't even notice the glove until the coach brought it up, and that you simply thought he wasn't allowed to wear it by rule.  Own it.

Easy there big fella ..... deep breaths .....it's all going to be ok ....

Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...