Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Glen Kiessling

Tag on a force out

Question

Guest Glen Kiessling

runner is on first, batter hits a ground ball to right side of the second base and the second baseman fields the ball, the runner from first is advancing and the player that fielded the ball has the ball in his glove but touches the runner with his free hand five feet before the force runner reaches second base. Is the runner force from first to second out?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
Quote

A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove; or touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball (not including hanging laces alone), while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove. 

Same definition, all codes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
10 hours ago, maven said:

Same definition, all codes.

Simply put, no. The ball must be in the hand or glove that he applied the tag with

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 1/31/2020 at 7:21 PM, Guest Glen Kiessling said:

runner is on first, batter hits a ground ball to right side of the second base and the second baseman fields the ball, the runner from first is advancing and the player that fielded the ball has the ball in his glove but touches the runner with his free hand five feet before the force runner reaches second base. Is the runner force from first to second out?

Don't be confused by the force.   The rules for tagging a runner are the same whether it's a force or not.  The force only gives you the additional option of tagging the base.

Tagging a runner - must use the hand/glove that holds the ball (or with the ball itself, provided it is held firmly in the hand)

Tagging a base - may be touched with any part of the body (including properly worn clothing/equipment), or the ball itself, as long as the ball is held firmly in either hand/glove.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
21 hours ago, beerguy55 said:

Don't be confused by the force.

The dark side will never stop attempting to confuse you.......

  • Like 1
  • Haha 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...