Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Little Ott

Pinch running for the DH - new vs old NFHS rule

Question

Guest Little Ott

 

I think I got this right but ... hmmm...

Under the new NFHS DH rule in which a player is DH-ing for himself, if any player subs for the DH on offense (pinch runs or pinch hits), then the role of the DH is terminated.  Is that true if the DH is  hitting a fielder other than himself?  Jones is the DH for Smith.  (Smith is fielding but not hitting).  Substitute Miller pinch runs for Jones.  Is the DH terminated in that game?  Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 answer to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
7 minutes ago, Guest Little Ott said:

Under the new NFHS DH rule in which a player is DH-ing for himself, if any player subs for the DH on offense (pinch runs or pinch hits), then the role of the DH is terminated.  Is that true if the DH is  hitting a fielder other than himself?

No. The DH rule has 2 distinct sets of termination conditions.

2 player scenario: this is the old DH rule, where the DH and fielder he hits for are 2 different people. The old termination conditions apply: if either player (or sub) does the other player's job, then the role of the DH is terminated. So it's possible to sub for the offensive role, and the sub becomes the new DH.

1 player scenario: this is the new DH rule, where the fielder and DH are the same person. Here, the role of the DH is terminated if any sub plays offense (hits or runs).

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...