Justin

Local training questions

Hi all,

My local high school group has been in turmoil for the past few years, and I've recently been asked to take charge of new candidate training, which has been largely non-existent in the past. I have six 2-hour classroom sessions to cover (field training is being handled by another unit in the next county over). What are your ideas for a basic structure to this course? Does anyone here have materials they're willing to share to help me get this off the ground? What are the major points I should cover, and in what order do you typically cover them? I'm a high school teacher in "real life," but this is my first attempt to teach umpiring past one-on-one conversations.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

1 hour ago, Justin said:

Hi all,

My local high school group has been in turmoil for the past few years, and I've recently been asked to take charge of new candidate training, which has been largely non-existent in the past. I have six 2-hour classroom sessions to cover (field training is being handled by another unit in the next county over). What are your ideas for a basic structure to this course? Does anyone here have materials they're willing to share to help me get this off the ground? What are the major points I should cover, and in what order do you typically cover them? I'm a high school teacher in "real life," but this is my first attempt to teach umpiring past one-on-one conversations.

What specific topics are you looking to cover in each class?

Please have a session on "what to expect" for your organization. Structure it from the moment someone is interested through their first few years. No group I've been a part of did anything similar and I always wish I had known how everything works.

• Like 1

3 hours ago, Justin said:

Hi all,

NFHS I believe has some training's of 2 man system rotations on a power point that is good for training.