Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Mar

mound visit

Question

Guest Mar

If a coach calls timeout to change pitchers and does so, while the new pitcher is warming up if the coach is standing there talking to him...is that considered a mound visit for that new pitcher?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
31 minutes ago, Guest Mar said:

If a coach calls timeout to change pitchers and does so, while the new pitcher is warming up if the coach is standing there talking to him...is that considered a mound visit for that new pitcher?

No.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Just to clarify..........coaches request time, umpires grant it.

But as a general rule, as long as he doesn't delay the new pitcher warming up, and is off of the field when he is done warming up (not delaying the game) I don't think this is considered a visit (in all codes?)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I think this is still valid (OBR):

7.12 TRIPS TO THE MOUND
A second trip to the mound to the same pitcher in the same inning by a manager or coach will
cause that pitcher's removal from the game.
The manager or coach is prohibited from making a second visit to the mound while the same
hitter is at bat, but if a pinch hitter is substituted for this batter, the manager or coach may then
make a second visit to the mound, but must then remove the pitcher.
For the purpose of this rule, a batter's time at bat begins the moment the preceding batter is put
out or becomes a base runner.
A trip to the mound begins when the manager or coach crosses the foul line. The trip ends when
the manager or coach leaves the 18-foot circle surrounding the pitcher's rubber.

A consequence of the rule regarding trips to the mound is that once a manager or coach has
completed a trip to the mound, the pitcher then pitching must continue pitching to the batter then
at bat (or retire the side) unless a pinch hitter is substituted or unless one of the following
situations applies:
(a) If a game becomes suspended during a manager's or coach's trip to the mound (or after the
trip but while the same batter is still at bat), a new pitcher may be substituted when the game
is later resumed.
(b) If a rain delay occurs during a manager's or coach's trip to the mound (or after the trip but
while the same batter is still at bat), a new pitcher may be substituted when the game is
resumed following the rain delay.
If the manager or coach goes to the catcher or an infielder and that player then goes to the
mound-or the pitcher goes to that player at the player's position-before there is an intervening
play (a pitch or other play), that will be the same as the manager or coach going to the mound.
If a catcher or other player goes to the dugout or manager and then immediately to the mound,
that will be deemed a trip.
If a pitcher is removed and the manager or coach remains to talk to the new pitcher, this is not
charged as a visit to the new pitcher.
If a coach goes to the mound and removes a pitcher and then the manager goes to the mound to
talk with the new pitcher, that will constitute one trip to that new pitcher that inning.

If a manager changes pitchers and leaves the mound, he (or a coach) may come out again to visit
the pitcher while the same batter is at bat, but this will constitute one trip to that new pitcher that
inning.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...