Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Marcia

Who gets the win?

Question

Guest Marcia

Let's say the score is 4-3.  The (so far) winning pitcher is taken out of the game and the pitcher who takes his place gets behind, but then the team comes back and wins the game.  Who gets the win?  What does the starting pitcher get?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Generally, the winning pitcher is the person who was the pitcher of record when the team retook the lead: the substitute pitcher in this case (or whoever had been substituted for the reliever at the time when the team retook the lead). The starting pitcher would get a no-decision and the substitute pitcher who gave up the lead, depending on circumstance/inning, could get a blown save (it's pretty common for closers who blow saves whose teams then retake the lead in the next half inning to be credited with both a blown save AND a win). Official Baseball Rule 9.17.

Screenshot_8_14_19__12_25_PM.png.36dc5ecb5859ac4b0cf749124cdf7fc4.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

The pitcher of record when the team takes it's last lead gets the win (with some exceptions such as the starter must go five innings, etc).

In your example, the starting pitcher gets a hearty handshake, a pat on the back , and the warm glow of appreciation.  He's also first in line for the showers and the post-game buffet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...