Jump to content
Gil

Barber's Batter Interference - Mancini Impedes Chirinos

Recommended Posts

When HP Umpire Sean Barber declared Orioles runner Jonathan Villar out for teammate Trey Mancini's interference in Baltimore, he enforced Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(5) that deals with a batter who impedes a catcher's throw at home plate by illegally stepping out of the box. As the following...

[[ This is a content summary only. Visit my website for full links, other content, and more! ]]

View the full article

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

6.01 Interference, Obstruction, and Catcher Collisions (a) Batter or Runner Interference It is interference by a batter or a runner when: (1) After a third strike that is not caught by the catcher, the batter-runner clearly hinders the catcher in his attempt to field the ball.  Such batter-runner is out, the ball is dead, and all other runners return to the bases they occupied at the time of the pitch; Rule 6.01(a)(1) Comment: If the pitched ball deflects off the catcher or umpire and subsequently touches the batter-runner, it is not considered interference unless, in the judgment of the umpire, the batter-runner clearly hinders the catcher in his attempt to field the ball. (2) He intentionally deflects the course of a foul ball in any manner; (3) Before two are out and a runner on third base, the batter hinders a fielder in making a play at home base; the runner is out; (4) Any member or members of the offensive team stand or gather around any base to which a runner is advancing, to confuse, hinder or add to the difficulty of the fielders. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate or teammates; (5) Any batter or runner who has just been put out, or any runner who has just scored, hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner.  Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate (see Rule 6.01(j)); Rule 6.01(a)(5) Comment: If the batter or a runner continues to advance or returns or attempts to return to his last legally touched base after he has been put out, he shall not by that act alone be considered as confusing, hindering or impeding the fielders.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, catsbackr said:

6.01 Interference, Obstruction, and Catcher Collisions (a) Batter or Runner Interference It is interference by a batter or a runner when: (1) After a third strike that is not caught by the catcher, the batter-runner clearly hinders the catcher in his attempt to field the ball.  Such batter-runner is out, the ball is dead, and all other runners return to the bases they occupied at the time of the pitch; Rule 6.01(a)(1) Comment: If the pitched ball deflects off the catcher or umpire and subsequently touches the batter-runner, it is not considered interference unless, in the judgment of the umpire, the batter-runner clearly hinders the catcher in his attempt to field the ball. (2) He intentionally deflects the course of a foul ball in any manner; (3) Before two are out and a runner on third base, the batter hinders a fielder in making a play at home base; the runner is out; (4) Any member or members of the offensive team stand or gather around any base to which a runner is advancing, to confuse, hinder or add to the difficulty of the fielders. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate or teammates; (5) Any batter or runner who has just been put out, or any runner who has just scored, hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner.  Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate (see Rule 6.01(j)); Rule 6.01(a)(5) Comment: If the batter or a runner continues to advance or returns or attempts to return to his last legally touched base after he has been put out, he shall not by that act alone be considered as confusing, hindering or impeding the fielders.

correct ...  Gil talks about (3) and (5) being called, and maybe I read it wrong initially ...but I was just clarifying that because of this situation, (5) was envoked (not both ) ....that's all I was confirming, ....kind of rhetorical I know :Facepalm:

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Correct, two rules govern the batter's interference situation, with 6.01(a)(5) applying here due to the strikeout. With the batter not already out, use 6.03(a)(3).

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...