Jump to content
  • 0
Guest LPW

Illegal Glove

Question

Guest LPW

An outfielder made a catch for an out while wearing a 1st baseman's glove. When asked about it, the umpire said the out was legitimate, but from that point on, the outfielder had to get a legal glove. Is this the proper ruling? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Recommended Posts

  • 0
45 minutes ago, yawetag said:

Let's dig deeper. Since 2B is defined first, and then the intersection of the two 90-foot from 2B and the plate makes the outside corner of the bag (from home plate), wouldn't that then no longer make that square a square? The "square" is from point of home plate to back of 1B, to middle of 2B, to back of 3B, to point of home plate.

Though now I think about it, the square would be real, but wouldn't be lined perfectly to the home plate "diagonals".

The "base" is a point on the ground.  The bases define a square.  The "bag" is the canvas object that marks the "base."  The "bags" do not form a perfect square.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
12 minutes ago, noumpere said:

The "base" is a point on the ground.  The bases define a square.  The "bag" is the canvas object that marks the "base."  The "bags" do not form a perfect square.

Using the rulebook diagonal dimension from HP to 2B makes the diamond a rhombus with angles slightly more and less than 90 by a very small fraction. I suspect most modern fields are layed out by CAD and surveying instruments that make all the angles exactly 90 and the HP - 2B distance fractionally less than the rulebook distance. But any basepoint marking device would probably encompass that difference. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

And then let's not forget that the rubber was supposed to be 60'0" from the plate...but the guy's zero had a little tail on it as he quickly wrote it down...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
19 hours ago, kylehutson said:

...and if they do that, you'll find that the width of the plate is actually 16.97". I bet that 3/100 inch throws off a lot of batters.

 

TrackMan!!!!!!   :smachhead:

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 8/12/2019 at 6:44 AM, yawetag said:

Unless the glove is drastically altered from the original design, I'm going to assume that any glove manufactured by a company you've heard of is within the rules.

 

5AF59E63-EA08-478C-B495-9A49D174BF37.jpeg

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...