Guest Jim Posted August 10, 2019 Report Share Posted August 10, 2019 Watching the Little League Great Lakes Regional Final, Bowling Green vs Illinois, on ESPN, and the Illinois Pitcher in the late innings, 4th and 5th, when he come to the set position and brings his hands and ball together he is way above his head. Thought there was a limit on height of the set with hands together with the ball of like the chin or below. Obviously, must be legal because Plate Ump not calling illegal pitch or a balk. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
0 UMP45 315 Posted August 10, 2019 Report Share Posted August 10, 2019 In NFHS(Fed) the ball has to be at or below the chin. Nothing in OBR. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
0 Lou B 101 Posted August 10, 2019 Report Share Posted August 10, 2019 Set Position: holding the ball in both hands in front of the body and coming to a complete stop. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
0 LRZ 376 Posted August 10, 2019 Report Share Posted August 10, 2019 The LL rule, 8.01(b), reads, in part, "Set Position shall be indicated by the pitcher when that pitcher stands facing the batter with the pivot foot in contact with, and the other foot in front of, the pitcher’s plate, holding the ball in both hands in front of the body and coming to a complete stop."Body," not "torso" or "chest." But above the head? Quote Link to post Share on other sites
0 noumpere 3,247 Posted August 11, 2019 Report Share Posted August 11, 2019 51 minutes ago, UMP45 said: In NFHS(Fed) the ball has to be at or below the chin. Nothing in OBR. Any part of the glove ... Quote Link to post Share on other sites
0 Rich Ives 1,162 Posted August 11, 2019 Report Share Posted August 11, 2019 2 hours ago, LRZ said: The LL rule, 8.01(b), reads, in part, "Set Position shall be indicated by the pitcher when that pitcher stands facing the batter with the pivot foot in contact with, and the other foot in front of, the pitcher’s plate, holding the ball in both hands in front of the body and coming to a complete stop."Body," not "torso" or "chest." But above the head? Was it behind him? No? Then it was in front. 1 Quote Link to post Share on other sites
0 Lou B 101 Posted August 11, 2019 Report Share Posted August 11, 2019 33 minutes ago, Rich Ives said: Was it behind him? No? Then it was in front. His hands can't be behind him or directly over his head but as long as they are "in front of his body" he's fine. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
0 JoeC 13 Posted August 11, 2019 Report Share Posted August 11, 2019 8.01 (b) NOTE: In Little League (Majors) and below the pitcher need not come to a complete stop. They do not have to come to a complete stop in Little League Majors and below. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
0 The Man in Blue 437 Posted August 11, 2019 Report Share Posted August 11, 2019 I’m assuming that is because of their base running rule (no leadoffs)? Quote Link to post Share on other sites
0 Senor Azul 540 Posted August 11, 2019 Report Share Posted August 11, 2019 To our guest Jim, Little League (better known as the Majors division) by rule does not call balks. I am not sure whether the illegal stance would make an illegal pitch. A BALK: Baseball is an illegal act by the pitcher with a runner or runners on base entitling all runners to advance one base [Intermediate (50-70) Division/ Junior/Senior League]. A balk is not called in the Little League (Major) Division and below. (See Rule 8.05 - Illegal Pitch.) As for the question of how high the hands can be when stopped in the set position, I was taught that a pitcher could not stop above his head under OBR rules. As noted above, high school actually spells out in its rule 6-1-3 (and in a case play) that the pitcher must come to a stop with his glove at or below his chin. Here’s the only supporting evidence I can find on the subject-- From the 2013 Wendelstedt Rules and Interpretations Manual (p. 211): Play P178: R2, no outs, no count. The pitcher, after indicating the Set Position, stops with his arms high above his head. Ruling: This is a balk. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
0 basejester 408 Posted August 11, 2019 Report Share Posted August 11, 2019 In the Major Division, the pitcher doesn't have to stop at all. 8.05 - With a runner or runners on base, it is an illegal pitch – Major/Minor League [a balk in Intermediate (50-70) Division/Junior/Senior League] when - . . . (m) Intermediate (50-70) Division/Junior/Senior League only: The pitcher delivers the pitch from the set position without coming to a stop. NOTE 1: Little League (Major) and Minor League - 8.05(l) and 8.05(m) shall not be enforced at any time. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
0 Lou B 101 Posted August 11, 2019 Report Share Posted August 11, 2019 This might be "nit picking" but (l) and (m) both start with the words: "Intermediate (50/70) Division/Junior/Senior League only", so why do you need a NOTE that says they don't apply in Little League (Majors) and Minors? Just askin' Quote Link to post Share on other sites
0 Aging_Arbiter 1,593 Posted August 12, 2019 Report Share Posted August 12, 2019 16 hours ago, Lou B said: This might be "nit picking" but (l) and (m) both start with the words: "Intermediate (50/70) Division/Junior/Senior League only", so why do you need a NOTE that says they don't apply in Little League (Majors) and Minors? Just askin' Majors and below cannot lead off...........therefore, he isn't "deceiving" any runners. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
0 Lou B 101 Posted August 12, 2019 Report Share Posted August 12, 2019 I know that, that's not what I meant. Why the NOTE about (l) and (m) not applying to majors and minors when (l) and (m) already say they only apply to intermediate, juniors and seniors? Quote Link to post Share on other sites
0 Aging_Arbiter 1,593 Posted August 12, 2019 Report Share Posted August 12, 2019 maybe it was from the Department of Redundancy Department? Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Question
Guest Jim
Watching the Little League Great Lakes Regional Final, Bowling Green vs Illinois, on ESPN,
and the Illinois Pitcher in the late innings, 4th and 5th, when he come to the set position
and brings his hands and ball together he is way above his head. Thought there was a limit
on height of the set with hands together with the ball of like the chin or below.
Obviously, must be legal because Plate Ump not calling illegal pitch or a balk.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Top Posters For This Question
4
2
1
Popular Days
Aug 10
8
Aug 11
4
Aug 12
3
Top Posters For This Question
Lou B 4 posts
Aging_Arbiter 2 posts
UMP45 1 post
Popular Days
Aug 10 2019
8 posts
Aug 11 2019
4 posts
Aug 12 2019
3 posts
Popular Posts
Rich Ives
Was it behind him? No? Then it was in front.
14 answers to this question
Recommended Posts