Jump to content
  • 0
Guest David Noble

Batting

Question

Guest David Noble

Can a switch hitter batting from one side of the plate switch to the other side of the plate during the same at bat?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

13 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
13 minutes ago, Guest David Noble said:

Can a switch hitter batting from one side of the plate switch to the other side of the plate during the same at bat?

Yes - at any time except when the pitcher is in position and ready to pitch.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

... and any number of times during a single time at bat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Like that.
 
Ever had an ambidextrous pitcher?  
A pitcher, in little league, does not have the same opportunity to "switch".

The pitcher must use the same hand to deliver the ball to each batter and can only switch between batters.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
11 hours ago, The Man in Blue said:

Like that.

 

Ever had an ambidextrous pitcher?  

MLB changed the rule a few years ago that the pitcher has to declare and commit to a hand for that batter.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
4 hours ago, beerguy55 said:

MLB changed the rule a few years ago that the pitcher has to declare and commit to a hand for that batter.

The Pat Venditte Rule.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, noumpere said:

It could also be called the Ettidnev Tap Rule

Boo!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

In little.league:
For the batter, yes.
For the pitcher, no (ha, they have enough trouble finding the strike zone with the hand that they are used to using)

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I had one in an eighth grade softball regional.  Just wondering if anybody else has ever actually seen one out in the wild.  :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

About 5-6 years ago I was asked to just call pitches for a college evaluation "game".  7-8 college scouts in the stands, all with clip boards and guns.  Most pitchers throwing low to mid 90's.   They were changing out pitchers and base runners every half inning. A few innings in there's a kid on the mound throwing right handed.  Nothing special, mid 80's at best but threw strikes. I'm thinking why is he here?  A batter gets a hit.  It took me a couple of pitches to realize he is now throwing left handed. Equally as strong mid 80's, throwing strikes.  At the end of the inning he's walking off the mound and I walk towards him and ask to see his glove.  He had a custom six finger glove made to switch hands.  Pretty cool.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...