Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest stevenbaker

Dropped Foul Batter Walks

Question

Guest stevenbaker

A batter hits a foul pop, which is dropped by the fielder.  He then walks or is HBP.  Is this an AB with an addition 0 for 1 in the box score, or is it just a PA because of the walk?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Under the provisions of rule 9.12(a)(1) a defensive player is charged with an error if he muffs a fly ball in foul territory and thereby prolongs a batter’s time at bat. In fact, it is proper to charge the error whether or not the batter ultimately gets on base. At first glance it might seem unnecessary to charge the error if the batter is retired but the oversight would affect the fielding average of the defensive player which is computed on the basis of putouts, assists, and errors.

Rule 9.22(a) tells us about plate appearances …Total appearances at the plate shall include official times at bat, plus bases on balls, times hit by pitcher, sacrifice hits, sacrifice flies and times awarded first base because of interference or obstruction…

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
17 hours ago, Guest stevenbaker said:

A batter hits a foul pop, which is dropped by the fielder.  He then walks or is HBP.  Is this an AB with an addition 0 for 1 in the box score, or is it just a PA because of the walk?

As illustrated in Senor's post, the fielder gets charged with an error, even if on the very next pitch he a catches a fly ball in the exact same place to put the batter out.

In short - they are separate scenarios and treated separately...even if one, ultimately, leads to the other.

The fielder is charged with an error regardless of what the batter does with his new life.

The batter's plate appearance is recorded based on whatever happens to end his at bat, out or safe, regardless of the error.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Guest stevenbaker

Thanks guys.  I knew the error was recorded regardless, but the walk takes precedence and doesn't affect his batting average, like an error on a ball between the lines.  I've come across quite a few plays recently that I never considered before.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...