Jump to content

Balk? Stepping off rubber


Recommended Posts

FED. R3. F1 is in set position. As he lifts his back foot to step backward off the rubber his spike on his shoe hits the top of the rubber which causes a slight hesitation/stutter before he completed disengaging the rubber. He did not lose his balance nor did it cause any other awkward movement that might be called a balk. It is hard to describe, but basically instead of lifting his foot 2" to clear the rubber he lifted it 1 3/4", hit the rubber, and then stepped off. Balk or not? I cannot find anything in the book to support a balk.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

R2. F1 brings his non-pivot foot back, where the cleats catch the rubber. He falls backwards, where his non-pivot foot gains distance and direction toward 2B. You call a balk for starting and stopping. Coach and F1 argue he was going for the pick-off, and he wasn't required to throw.

What now?

Link to post
Share on other sites

R2. F1 brings his non-pivot foot back, where the cleats catch the rubber. He falls backwards, where his non-pivot foot gains distance and direction toward 2B. You call a balk for starting and stopping. Coach and F1 argue he was going for the pick-off, and he wasn't required to throw.

What now?

If hes in the set and brings his not pivot foot back hes already stepped and gaine distance and direction when his foot hits the rubber. Explain again why "you" called a balk.

Link to post
Share on other sites

R2. F1 brings his non-pivot foot back, where the cleats catch the rubber. He falls backwards, where his non-pivot foot gains distance and direction toward 2B. You call a balk for starting and stopping. Coach and F1 argue he was going for the pick-off, and he wasn't required to throw.

What now?

No balk. He has gained distance and direction as long as his foot goes toward 2B.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Explain again why "you" called a balk.

I didn't; was just giving a different scenario where it wasn't the pivot foot that caused the fall. I can see an umpire saying that he had committed to pitch. Personally, it's not a balk.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...