Sign in to follow this  
RBIbaseball

LL Majors Softball rule/situation

Question

To preface, this happened in my 4th game I've ever umpired as I am brand new to the business. I have always been a student of the game and have been studying rules and umpire mechanics more closely since I'm putting myself out there. I'm 32yr old if that's relevant.

Game 1 - Majors LL softball: R1 and R2, 1 out, dropped 3rd strike situation with the ball traveling to the backstop. BR takes off down 1st base line and everyone is yelling "Go, Go, Go". PU signals strike with no other verbal signal and stands there looking at the play as she starts to pitter patter a few feet toward first base following the runner slightly. I was already moving in position to make a call at 3B if there is one to be had on the passed ball. As it was unfolding I was a little confused for a second as I thought I had been caught off guard and messed something up (dropped 3rd strike was not in my pre-play thoughts with 1B occupied). The BR beat the catcher's throw down to 1B and the PU signaled safe. R2 advanced home safely and R1 advanced to 3B with no play. The ball went back to the pitcher in the circle at the end of the play.

By now I have processed that the PU failed to realize or was unaware of the first base being occupied rule. There were about 5 seconds (as in I had time to intervene but I didn't) after the pitcher reset in the circle before the defensive coach asked for time and both coaches approached the home plate ump. I immediately ran up to home plate to assist my PU. I got there as the coach had finished asking a question that I only heard the tail end of about "but they had a runner on first". PU looked at both coaches and I could tell she was lost, so then she looked at me a bit desperately and I took over the conversation from there.