Jump to content
illump

Catcher's obstruction

Recommended Posts

We play in a 10U league (one-man umpire) that uses NFHS rules.  I don't know Fed rules nor have a Fed rule book.  

I tried to look up catcher's interference for Fed games online, but I think it is called catcher's obstruction for this level.  Not 100% sure, though.

Situation:

R3, no outs.

Batter swings and makes contact with catcher's glove, ball goes to RF for a base hit.  R3 scores.

Umpire rules catcher's interference, so he puts R3 back at third and awards BR first base.  R3 was not trying to steal.  Final ruling.

I tell one of our coaches that this is not correct, because we should have the opportunity to take the result of the play or the enforcement of the CI/CB, whichever benefits us more.  Umpire was adamant that the award is BR to first and move R3 back to third.  In my overzealousness, I tried to get our coach to appeal to the umpire about the incorrect ruling, but the umpire would not have anything to do with the coach.  I thought I was right, but since the UIC was very vocal about him being right, I started to question myself.  Maybe Fed CI/CB is different than OBR.  Please tell me whether I'm right or wrong.  

-Illump

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From the on-line 2015 NFHS book, Rule 8-1-1(e):  A batter becomes a runner with the right to attempt to score by advancing to first, second, third and home bases in the listed order when . . . the catcher or any other defensive player obstructs him. The coach or captain of the team at bat, after being informed by the umpire-in-chief of the obstruction, shall indicate whether or not he elects to decline the obstruction penalty and accept the resulting play. Such election shall be made before the next pitch (legal or illegal), before the award of an intentional base on balls, or before the infielders leave the diamond. Obstruction of the batter is ignored if the batter-runner reaches first and all other runners advance at least one base.

Rule 8-1-1(e)(1): Any runner attempting to advance (i.e., steal or squeeze) on a catcher’s obstruction of the batter shall be awarded the base he is attempting. If a runner is not attempting to advance on the catcher’s obstruction, he shall not be entitled to the next base, if not forced to advance because of the batter being awarded first base. If obstruction is enforced, all other runners on the play will return to base occupied at time of the pitch. The batter is awarded first base, if he did not reach base.

Rule 8-1-1(e)(2): If obstruction is not enforced, all other runners advance at their own risk.

Caveat: I don't work Fed, nor do I have a more current NFHS rule book at hand.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's the rule, and it's substantially the same as the pro rule. FED umpires should bring the option to the coach, and not wait for him to mention it (as pro umpires should do).

The UIC in the OP had the right rule (CO) and the right penalty (award BR 1B, stealing runners their advance bases, and other runners stay put), but failed to remember (a) that the offense has an option with CO, and (b) that the penalty lapses when all runners reach their advance bases.

Remember either (a) or (b) would have prevented the F-up. Plus the guy sounds like a image.png.b5c257da3c91afc6d06d8078292d9582.png

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The ump was wrong on all fronts.

If all runners advance one base the CI is ignored.   The ump's ruling would be right if someone didn't advance.

And, if CI is enforced, the coach has the option to take the result of the play.

Your coach should be filing a protest at that moment - if for no other reason than to get the umpire educated.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, maven said:

That's the rule, and it's substantially the same as the pro rule. FED umpires should bring the option to the coach, and not wait for him to mention it (as pro umpires should do).

The UIC in the OP had the right rule (CO) and the right penalty (award BR 1B, stealing runners their advance bases, and other runners stay put), but failed to remember (a) that the offense has an option with CO, and (b) that the penalty lapses when all runners reach their advance bases.

Remember either (a) or (b) would have prevented the F-up. Plus the guy sounds like a image.png.b5c257da3c91afc6d06d8078292d9582.png

There was no option to give. CO/CI is ignored if the batter and all runners advanced 1 base:

"e. the catcher or any other defensive player obstructs him. The coach or ­captain of the team at bat, after being informed by the umpire-in-chief of the obstruction, shall indicate whether or not he elects to decline the obstruction penalty and accept the resulting play. Such election shall be made before the next pitch (legal or illegal), before the award of an intentional base on balls, or before the infielders leave the diamond. Obstruction of the ­batter is ignored if the batter-runner reaches first and all other runners advance at least one base."

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you all for your timely input.  I am glad that I didn't give the coach bad advice.  Maven, your pic was very apropos for our UIC.  This misapplication was one of his "finer" moments, including talking on a cell phone during live action, which I think is a little image.png.b5c257da3c91afc6d06d8078292d9582.png-y.  We all have had bad days, but I think this went above and beyond that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 6/20/2019 at 12:46 PM, illump said:

Thank you all for your timely input.  I am glad that I didn't give the coach bad advice.  Maven, your pic was very apropos for our UIC.  This misapplication was one of his "finer" moments, including talking on a cell phone during live action, which I think is a little image.png.b5c257da3c91afc6d06d8078292d9582.png-y.  We all have had bad days, but I think this went above and beyond that.

Whoa... solo umpire on the phone during a live ball??? :WTF  something tells me we’ve got one of those guys with multi years experience ..... one year experience multiple times. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On ‎6‎/‎20‎/‎2019 at 11:06 AM, beerguy55 said:

The ump was wrong on all fronts.

If all runners advance one base the CI is ignored.   The ump's ruling would be right if someone didn't advance.

And, if CI is enforced, the coach has the option to take the result of the play.

Your coach should be filing a protest at that moment - if for no other reason than to get the umpire educated.

I have and will always say, the protest is the most under utilized tool that coaches have. 

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, JSam21 said:

I have and will always say, the protest is the most under utilized tool that coaches have. 

Aptly said. We umpires bristle and are all scared of the P-word. However, know the best way to avoid a Protest? Know the frakkin’ Rules, and quit making sh!t up!!

 

  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, JSam21 said:

I have and will always say, the protest is the most under utilized tool that coaches have. 

Don't say that too loudly, or coaches will be using the word for anything that goes against them.

I'd rather quality over quantity when it comes to coaches using it.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 6/20/2019 at 12:04 PM, maven said:

 FED umpires should bring the option to the coach, and not wait for him to mention it (as pro umpires should do).

 

You are 100% correct (as you know).  We (at my urging) specifically put this in the FED umpire manual in 2016 because I had, had long debates about this with umpires across the country throughout my FED career.  I told my fellow committee members that I didn't really care which way it was resolved, but that we definitely needed to provide guidance to umpires.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, yawetag said:

Don't say that too loudly, or coaches will be using the word for anything that goes against them.

I'd rather quality over quantity when it comes to coaches using it.

Most coaches know they can protest and most of them rarely/never use it even when there aren't rules and processes that discourage protests.

I've seen the rules with fees, waiting periods and other hurdles to discourage protests because they're afraid of frivolous protests, but in my experience those fears are unfounded - I've coached and watched hundreds of games in tournament format where there was absolutely no obstacle to filing a protest...and have run 30 team tournaments as a TD...I can count the number of protests filed in all those tournaments on one hand.

I think that quantity can go up a bit, even if some of them are outright dumb.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, lawump said:

You are 100% correct (as you know).  We (at my urging) specifically put this in the FED umpire manual in 2016 because I had, had long debates about this with umpires across the country throughout my FED career.  I told my fellow committee members that I didn't really care which way it was resolved, but that we definitely needed to provide guidance to umpires.

Ohio has its own manual now, so I have not seen the FED manual (they don't even send it out anymore). But I'm glad that you prevailed: the pro mechanic is not suitable for HS varsity, much less sub-varsity and non-scholastic ball played under FED rules.

I suspect that the pro mechanic might create more problems than it solves, but I lack standing (to use the legal phrase) to have an official opinion about it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...