Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest David Brunk

Dropped 3rd strike less than 2 outs bases loaded

Question

Guest David Brunk

What happens if there is a dropped 3rd strike with less than 2 outs bases loaded and batter makes no effort to move to first. 3rd base runner comes home and catcher hits home plate before runner touches home. What’s the call?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
1 minute ago, Guest David Brunk said:

What happens if there is a dropped 3rd strike with less than 2 outs bases loaded and batter makes no effort to move to first. 3rd base runner comes home and catcher hits home plate before runner touches home. What’s the call?

Safe on a steal of HP unless the catcher also tagged R3 before R3 touched home. The batter was out on strike 3 when 1B was occupied with less than 2 outs. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

As correctly stated above, with the based loaded on an uncaught third strike the batter is out.

Runners are not "forced" to advance but can do so at their own risk.

As such, the runner from third coming home must be tagged prior to reaching the plate to be out.  Tagging home plate means nothing.  Score the run.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

As Lou said, score the run.

The uncaught 3rd strike rule exists as a holdover from the days when catchers did not wear gloves. The reasoning is that the batter does not become out unless he is put out, and the catcher securing strike 3 is the act that puts out the batter (this is why the catcher is credited with a put out on a strikeout, when scoring a game). The rule is suspended when 1st base is occupied with less than 2 outs, to prevent the catcher intentionally failing to put out the batter, and then throwing for an unearned double (or triple, if 2nd base was also occupied at the time of the pitch) play to retire the runners who were forced by the batter becoming a runner. 

Because the OP happened with less than 2 outs and 1st base occupied, the batter is declared out on strike 3. This removes the force on the runners, so they must be tagged out if they attempt to advance. Because there was no more force, the catcher could not retire R3 by tagging the base. Since R3 was not tagged, and he touched home plate, the run scores. 

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
12 hours ago, Guest David Brunk said:

What happens if there is a dropped 3rd strike with less than 2 outs bases loaded and batter makes no effort to move to first. 3rd base runner comes home and catcher hits home plate before runner touches home. What’s the call?

Are you sure you don't mean "with 2 outs?"  In that case, R3 is out on a force out, and the inning is over.  This is sometimes confusing / enlightening to newer plaers / coaches / umpires--they jsut haven't thought of this scenario before because it's rare in the (usually pro) baseball they've watched before.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...