Jump to content
  • 0
Guest Matt

Information available signal

Question

Guest Matt

Baseball has a new signal in NFHS.  The "Information Available" signal.  This is where an umpire puts his/her hand on the chest to signal to the other umpires that he/she has additional information about the play and or/ruling on the play.  As officials, are we not supposed to wait until a manager comes out to ask or challenge?  Thoughts?

Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

14 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Depends on the situation, but in general you shouldn't look at changing a call until the manager questions it. The signal is more for when your partner is having a discussion with the coach. You get in eyesight of your partner and make the signal.

BTW, this has been a thing for much longer than NFHS wrote it in their book. For me, it's always been taking my cap off.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

NFHS is trying to catch up, and I'll give them some credit for that. While I give them a lot of crap for being what they are, I do have to remind myself that there are umpires and organizations that don't have the experience or drive that other umpires and organizations have, and these "minimum standards" are almost required to give them something. It's not perfect, but it's better than nothing.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I wasn't a fan of this when I first heard about it. However, yesterday my partner used it as a "let's talk between innings" signal as opposed to an "I have information about a call" signal. It was very discrete and I strongly prefer it to crossing your arms in an "X" in front of your body, which is much more obvious. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
4 hours ago, yawetag said:

For me, it's always been taking my cap off.

Locally, we pre-game to put your hand in your ball bag or pockets (bases), as you don't "normally" stand or walk around that way.......BUT......it's a not so obvious indicator that your partner will pick up on.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I found that using this new signal, below, really is subtle and lets only my partner know we need to speak:

 

Image result for look at me

  • Like 2
  • Haha 5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

If I'm a smart, likeable coach that knows about this, I come talk to the umpire and simply say "alright, let's both turn to your partner and see if he gives you the information available signal".

  • Like 1
  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

What happened to getting the call right?

If I see a HC getting ready to come out and question a call on a pulled foot, swipe tag, etc. I'm calling "TIME" and going to my partner!

No signal required!  

If it's a judgement call on the same situation, but the HC doesn't intend on coming out, that's when I give MY signal!  We talk about it and go from there!  

Get it right!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Tborze said:

What happened to getting the call right?

If I see a HC getting ready to come out and question a call on a pulled foot, swipe tag, etc. I'm calling "TIME" and going to my partner!

No signal required!  

If it's a judgement call on the same situation, but the HC doesn't intend on coming out, that's when I give MY signal!  We talk about it and go from there!  

Get it right!

A. Don't assume why he's coming out.

B. If he doesn't come out, you just made your crew look incompetent. 

Also, a pulled foot/swipe tag is judgement. I don't know why you added that part in.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
14 hours ago, Thatsnotyou said:

If I'm a smart, likeable coach that knows about this, I come talk to the umpire and simply say "alright, let's both turn to your partner and see if he gives you the information available signal".

A smart, generally-likeable umpire will make the signal before you even make it within hearing distance of his smart, quiet-but-respected-by-all-coaches partner.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
13 hours ago, Matt said:

A. Don't assume why he's coming out.

B. If he doesn't come out, you just made your crew look incompetent. 

Also, a pulled foot/swipe tag is judgement. I don't know why you added that part in. Me either 

I should have been more clear, Sorry!  

I meant it as "my" call, not "a" call.  

I personally don't see a need for a signal from my partner to tell me I may have screwed the pooch. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

No, but the signal tells you that your partner knows you did.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
12 hours ago, yawetag said:

A smart, generally-likeable umpire will make the signal before you even make it within hearing distance of his smart, quiet-but-respected-by-all-coaches partner.

It was a joke...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...