Jump to content

NJSIAA Test Questions


LMSANS

Recommended Posts

It's not the rule interpretation, it's the way the question is posed.

The NJSIAA test is broken down as follows:

  • 10 questions on Mechanics - pure NFHS mechanics we all get the same questions
  • 10 questions on NJSIAA Regulations - state adoptions we all get the same
  • 5 questions 2019 NFHS Rule changes - We all get the same
  • 5 questions 2019 NFHS Points of Emphasis - We all get the same
  • 20 questions NFHS baseball rules - random selection from a group of 50

Here is one I got wrong from the points of emphasis...

Question #27

National anthem standoffs do not reflect education-based athletics. If this occurs umpires shall direct the visiting team to return to their dugout followed by the same directive to the home team.

 

o   a.Correct

o   b.Incorrect

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Before I crack open a reference: (B) Incorrect. My mind says to direct both of them at the same time.

After reading the POI in the Rule Book: (B) Incorrect. The POI implies it's the coach's duty to fix it: "Coaches are the closest role models to these students and are held accountable for the behavior of their players as they represent their school and community. If those actions are not representative of high school sports and what they stand for, then corrective measures should take place." Knowing that, I'd ask the coach to take care of it and, if he doesn't, restrict/eject him, then go to the new head coach. Lather, rinse, repeat.

That said, I would probably start with a general "Let's go!" direction to both teams, followed by the speaking to the coach(es).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

35 minutes ago, LMSANS said:

It's not the rule interpretation, it's the way the question is posed.

The NJSIAA test is broken down as follows:

  • 10 questions on Mechanics - pure NFHS mechanics we all get the same questions
  • 10 questions on NJSIAA Regulations - state adoptions we all get the same
  • 5 questions 2019 NFHS Rule changes - We all get the same
  • 5 questions 2019 NFHS Points of Emphasis - We all get the same
  • 20 questions NFHS baseball rules - random selection from a group of 50

Here is one I got wrong from the points of emphasis...

 

Question #27

National anthem standoffs do not reflect education-based athletics. If this occurs umpires shall direct the visiting team to return to their dugout followed by the same directive to the home team.

 

o   a.Correct

o   b.Incorrect

 

I submitted my test yesterday...Somehow I ended up with a 98. THIS^^^^^ is the one I got wrong. 

 

  • Haha 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, yawetag said:

Before I crack open a reference: (B) Incorrect. My mind says to direct both of them at the same time.

After reading the POI in the Rule Book: (B) Incorrect. The POI implies it's the coach's duty to fix it: "Coaches are the closest role models to these students and are held accountable for the behavior of their players as they represent their school and community. If those actions are not representative of high school sports and what they stand for, then corrective measures should take place." Knowing that, I'd ask the coach to take care of it and, if he doesn't, restrict/eject him, then go to the new head coach. Lather, rinse, repeat.

You're right, they are looking for incorrect. I guess directing the teams to the dugout isn't considered a first step in "corrective action" , whereas, telling the coaches to return the teams to the dugout is? Can we use Mr. Gibson's method??? 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I got a kick out of the superfluous information in some of the questions this year..

 

The third inning begins with Smith as F1 and Thomas as F3. B3 is 20 for 25 the last 3 years against Smith so Thomas replaces him as pitcher. After striking out B3, Smith returns to pitcher and Thomas to F3. After an out, the coach switches them again and Thomas retires B6.

a.Each time Smith and Thomas becomes pitcher, umpire should allow 8 warm-up pitches.

b.Smith gets his five warm-up pitches to begin the inning. Thomas gets 8 warm-up pitches and Smith gets none when he returns to the mound in the same inning.

 

Starting shortstop is a stud that is highly recruited. In the second inning, after tripling, the coach replaces him with a pinch runner because he needs to use his asthma inhaler. F6 re-enters the game to start the third inning. With his team ahead 8-1 in the sixth inning, coach substitutes several players into the game and F6 is removed. The opponents score 8 runs to go ahead in the top of the 7th. With two outs and R1 on first base, Coach returns F6 as a pinch hitter and hits a walk-off, game winning home run.

a.Plate Umpire should not have allowed F6 to re-enter the game a second time.

 b.If opposing coach calls this to the attention prior to the umpires leaving the field, umpires shall rule this an illegal substitution; call F6 out and eject. R1 is returned to 1st base and the game continues.

 c.If opposing coach calls it to the umpire's attention after they have left the field, the umpires have no recourse but to acknowledge the mistake. However, the home run stands and game is over.

d.All of the above are correct.

(We can go on about the little things that are technically wrong with answer "B", but I'll leave that alone for now.)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I believe we've discussed this question elsewhere. Not sure if we ever came to a unanimous conclusion. 

 

With the bases loaded and two outs, B4 hits a home run over the fence. As R1 is watching the ball, B4 passes him between first and second before R3 touches home plate. B4 is out for passing R1. This is also a timing play; R3's run does not score.

a. correct

b incorrect

 

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

10 minutes ago, Richvee said:

I believe we've discussed this question elsewhere. Not sure if we ever came to a unanimous conclusion. 

 

With the bases loaded and two outs, B4 hits a home run over the fence. As R1 is watching the ball, B4 passes him between first and second before R3 touches home plate. B4 is out for passing R1. This is also a timing play; R3's run does not score.

a. correct

b incorrect

 

 

 

iirc, it's a recent (within the past two years, I think) case play change. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, LMSANS said:

It's not the rule interpretation, it's the way the question is posed.

The NJSIAA test is broken down as follows:

  • 10 questions on Mechanics - pure NFHS mechanics we all get the same questions
  • 10 questions on NJSIAA Regulations - state adoptions we all get the same
  • 5 questions 2019 NFHS Rule changes - We all get the same
  • 5 questions 2019 NFHS Points of Emphasis - We all get the same
  • 20 questions NFHS baseball rules - random selection from a group of 50

Here is one I got wrong from the points of emphasis...

 

Question #27

National anthem standoffs do not reflect education-based athletics. If this occurs umpires shall direct the visiting team to return to their dugout followed by the same directive to the home team.

 

o   a.Correct

o   b.Incorrect

 

And this is why I'd be a terrible ump.

 

"Jesus Christ - whip out your dicks, let's measure and let's go!"

  • Haha 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

7 minutes ago, noumpere said:

iirc, it's a recent (within the past two years, I think) case play change. 

I found this one. Not the same, but you can infer the answer from this. 

8.4.2 SITUATION M: 

The bases are loaded with one out. B5 hits a home run over the fence. However, he passes R1 after rounding first. R1 misses second base while advancing to home. 

RULING: B5 is out at the point he passes R1. Upon proper defensive appeal, R1 is called out at the end of playing action by the umpire. Two runs score. B5, being declared out for passing R1, removed the force situation on R1 at second base.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

42 minutes ago, yawetag said:

Before I crack open a reference: (B) Incorrect. My mind says to direct both of them at the same time.

After reading the POI in the Rule Book: (B) Incorrect. The POI implies it's the coach's duty to fix it: "Coaches are the closest role models to these students and are held accountable for the behavior of their players as they represent their school and community. If those actions are not representative of high school sports and what they stand for, then corrective measures should take place." Knowing that, I'd ask the coach to take care of it and, if he doesn't, restrict/eject him, then go to the new head coach. Lather, rinse, repeat.

That said, I would probably start with a general "Let's go!" direction to both teams, followed by the speaking to the coach(es).

I am the only umpire in my association to have this happen.  Our interpreter doesn't understand why this is even mentioned. Ironically, he was on the bases with me when I had it happen.

 

BTW, because of U-E, I told both head coaches that if those guys are still standing there when the coach gets back to the dugout, the coach and the player are ejected. Coaches took care of the situation.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

33 minutes ago, Richvee said:

I believe we've discussed this question elsewhere. Not sure if we ever came to a unanimous conclusion. 

With the bases loaded and two outs, B4 hits a home run over the fence. As R1 is watching the ball, B4 passes him between first and second before R3 touches home plate. B4 is out for passing R1. This is also a timing play; R3's run does not score.

a. correct

b incorrect

 

14 minutes ago, Richvee said:

I found this one. Not the same, but you can infer the answer from this. 

8.4.2 SITUATION M: 

The bases are loaded with one out. B5 hits a home run over the fence. However, he passes R1 after rounding first. R1 misses second base while advancing to home. 

RULING: B5 is out at the point he passes R1. Upon proper defensive appeal, R1 is called out at the end of playing action by the umpire. Two runs score. B5, being declared out for passing R1, removed the force situation on R1 at second base.

Would this fall under the same principle as the bases loaded walk - where R2 rounds third and gets tagged out before R3 touches home.  R3's run still counts.   Basically, it is ruled that R3 has the base as a result of the award - as long as he touches it it doesn't matter when.  (even though, once R2 is out R3 is no longer forced)   I also assume it would be the same if R2 rounded third and passed R3 - same result, R2 no longer forced gets out before R3 scores.

So, if that's true, and we extend that to the HR awarding home to all runners - R3 should score...and, by extension, shouldn't R1 and R2 also???  Or is it only R3 because BR only achieved one base?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

23 minutes ago, beerguy55 said:

And this is why I'd be a terrible ump.

 

"Jesus Christ - whip out your dicks, let's measure and let's go!"

Reminds me of a story as my time at the casino.

We had a drunk who refused to leave, so we called the Highway Patrol to take care of it. In Missouri, each casino has a Highway Patrol Officer on duty at all times; these Officers are dressed in suits and ties. Officer arrives, asks drunk to leave (who again refuses), and then escorts him to the Highway Patrol office. While in the office, and the drunk still refusing to leave, the Officer leans back in his chair and unbuttons his suit coat. The Officer says "Well, it looks like we're in a contest to see who has the largest dick." He moves his coat to the side and shows his firearm and says "And it looks like I've got the bigger dick."

The drunk stares at the firearm, realizes he's in the depths of the back hallways of a casino, probably doesn't remember this guy is a Highway Patrolman, and says, "I'll leave."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

16 minutes ago, beerguy55 said:

 

Would this fall under the same principle as the bases loaded walk - where R2 rounds third and gets tagged out before R3 touches home.  R3's run still counts.   Basically, it is ruled that R3 has the base as a result of the award - as long as he touches it it doesn't matter when.  (even though, once R2 is out R3 is no longer forced) 

 

I'm not sure FED sees the bases loaded walk  this way. If they do, then I agree, the HR should be ruled the same, but the answer to this test question is it IS a time play..  a.correct

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Richvee said:

 

I'm not sure FED sees the bases loaded walk  this way. If they do, then I agree, the HR should be ruled the same, but the answer to this test question is it IS a time play..  a.correct

FED sees it the same way:

 

(old book reference) 9.1.1 SITUATION C: With two outs and R1, R2 and R3 on base, B6 receives a fourth ball. R3 touches
second and is then tagged off base for the third out before R1 has reached home base. RULING: R1
became entitled to home base as soon as the fourth ball was declared. Consequently, his run scores.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Richvee said:

I found this one. Not the same, but you can infer the answer from this. 

8.4.2 SITUATION M: 

The bases are loaded with one out. B5 hits a home run over the fence. However, he passes R1 after rounding first. R1 misses second base while advancing to home. 

RULING: B5 is out at the point he passes R1. Upon proper defensive appeal, R1 is called out at the end of playing action by the umpire. Two runs score. B5, being declared out for passing R1, removed the force situation on R1 at second base.

Can you check the current 9.1.1M -- If I recall correctly, that's the one that changed

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, noumpere said:

Can you check the current 9.1.1M -- If I recall correctly, that's the one that changed

9-1-1 C is different now. 

9-1-1 case plays only go to K now. I'm searching for the bases loaded walk play. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Here's the old 9-1-1M that has been removed

Runners on 1st and 2nd. 2 outs. B5 hits a HR. While running the bases, B5 (a) passes R1, or (b)maliciously runs over F4.

Ruling- In both a and b, B5 is out. R1 and R2 score due to the award of the HR. B5 is not a force out so other runs count. 

Emphasis on THIS HAS BEEN REMOVED

Seems FED now says this is a time play, and not previously awarded bases. 

Now there's still no mention anymore of the bases loaded walk with an overrun and tag out for out #3 before R3 touches the plate. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

And now the book has the same play twice...

8.4.2 SITUATION M: 

The bases are loaded with one out. B5 hits a home run over the fence. However, he passes R1 after rounding first. R1 misses second base while advancing to home. 

RULING: B5 is out at the point he passes R1. Upon proper defensive appeal, R1 is called out at the end of playing action by the umpire. Two runs score. B5, being declared out for passing R1, removed the force situation on R1 at second base.

9.1.1 SITUATION K: 

With the bases loaded and one out, B5 hits a home run out of the park. While advancing to second base, B5 passes R1 (force is removed) and B5 is declared out. R1 fails to touch second base, but touches third base on his way home. 

RULING: For missing a base or leaving a base too soon, the umpire will declare the runner out upon proper appeal. R3 and R2 score, because R1's out was not a force out for the third out. (8-2 PENALTY)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

10 minutes ago, Richvee said:

Here's the old 9-1-1M that has been removed

Runners on 1st and 2nd. 2 outs. B5 hits a HR. While running the bases, B5 (a) passes R1, or (b)maliciously runs over F4.

Ruling- In both a and b, B5 is out. R1 and R2 score due to the award of the HR. B5 is not a force out so other runs count. 

Emphasis on THIS HAS BEEN REMOVED

Seems FED now says this is a time play, and not previously awarded bases. 

Now there's still no mention anymore of the bases loaded walk with an overrun and tag out for out #3 before R3 touches the plate. 

That's (apparently) what I'm remembering, and the logical interp of its removal.  And, why (probably) this was on the test.  I'm sure it was discussed on this board or others when it was removed.

 

The general logic with this removal and the "overslide the base on a walk" play is that the defense can't *make a play* that negates an award, but that the offense must still *run the bases legally* to take advantage of the award.

 

2 minutes ago, Richvee said:

And now the book has the same play twice...

8.4.2 SITUATION M: 

The bases are loaded with one out. B5 hits a home run over the fence. However, he passes R1 after rounding first. R1 misses second base while advancing to home. 

RULING: B5 is out at the point he passes R1. Upon proper defensive appeal, R1 is called out at the end of playing action by the umpire. Two runs score. B5, being declared out for passing R1, removed the force situation on R1 at second base.

9.1.1 SITUATION K: 

With the bases loaded and one out, B5 hits a home run out of the park. While advancing to second base, B5 passes R1 (force is removed) and B5 is declared out. R1 fails to touch second base, but touches third base on his way home. 

RULING: For missing a base or leaving a base too soon, the umpire will declare the runner out upon proper appeal. R3 and R2 score, because R1's out was not a force out for the third out. (8-2 PENALTY)

Those plays are both in the old book I have on my hard-drive.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

 

6 hours ago, LMSANS said:

Question #27

National anthem standoffs do not reflect education-based athletics. If this occurs umpires shall direct the visiting team to return to their dugout followed by the same directive to the home team.

 

o   a.Correct

o   b.Incorrect

 

IIRC this is not correct based on what the interpreter said at our state meeting. It's incorrect because PU is supposed to direct the home team to their dugout first.

Not that there is anything that would verify this in writing, but why would we want or need anything like that?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

33 minutes ago, Kevin_K said:

 

IIRC this is not correct based on what the interpreter said at our state meeting. It's incorrect because PU is supposed to direct the home team to their dugout first.

Not that there is anything that would verify this in writing, but why would we want or need anything like that?

At the meeting so attended, he really brushed over this slide in a hurry. What I remember  him saying was something like this.....

”I’ve never even heard of this and certainly haven’t seen it but I guess someone thought it was important enough to make it a POE.  If you ever see this, just get them off the field and start the game. “

I’m paraphrasing. Maybe he said get the coaches to get them off the field?  He certainly didn’t make a big deal over it and as far as I recall, said nothing about which team to get off the field first. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Here in South Carolina, they were adamant that this was disrespectful to America and is not to be tolerated.

I suspect in Missouri, the response would be "Who plays the National Anthem before a baseball game, other than American Legion?"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

35 minutes ago, Richvee said:

At the meeting so attended, he really brushed over this slide in a hurry. What I remember  him saying was something like this.....

”I’ve never even heard of this and certainly haven’t seen it but I guess someone thought it was important enough to make it a POE.  If you ever see this, just get them off the field and start the game. “

I’m paraphrasing. Maybe he said get the coaches to get them off the field?  He certainly didn’t make a big deal over it and as far as I recall, said nothing about which team to get off the field first. 

Same thing in our meeting and like I said, our local interpreter is bewildered.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

19 minutes ago, yawetag said:

Here in South Carolina, they were adamant that this was disrespectful to America and is not to be tolerated.

I suspect in Missouri, the response would be "Who plays the National Anthem before a baseball game, other than American Legion?"

This was a cross town rivalry game, on a Friday night, and they even announced lineups and umpires. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...