Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Just a fan

R1 and R3, Batter Interference

Question

Guest Just a fan

R1 and R3, 1-1 count, 1 out.  The catcher calls out the play for 1st and 3rd situation (coach had called for the throw to go to 3rd base in an attempt to retire R3).  The pitch is delivered and R1 takes off stealing on the pitch.  The batter swings and misses and the batter interferes with the catcher attempting to put out R3. The plate umpire correctly says "batters interference", the catcher who was interfered with throws the ball into left field and R3 scores easily.  The plate umpire kills it, question now is, who is out? R3 or batter?  With R3, Less than 2 outs and batter interferes with catcher making play on R3 on play at the plate R3 is out, with 2 outs batter would be out.  Does the same concept/rule apply here since there was a runner on 3rd?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

The batter is out. This was not a play at the plate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 hours ago, Guest Just a fan said:

R1 and R3, 1-1 count, 1 out.  The catcher calls out the play for 1st and 3rd situation (coach had called for the throw to go to 3rd base in an attempt to retire R3).  The pitch is delivered and R1 takes off stealing on the pitch.  The batter swings and misses and the batter interferes with the catcher attempting to put out R3. The plate umpire correctly says "batters interference", the catcher who was interfered with throws the ball into left field and R3 scores easily.  The plate umpire kills it, question now is, who is out? R3 or batter?  With R3, Less than 2 outs and batter interferes with catcher making play on R3 on play at the plate R3 is out, with 2 outs batter would be out.  Does the same concept/rule apply here since there was a runner on 3rd?

What did the batter do that got the interference call?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...