Jump to content
  • 0

Dropped 3rd with bases loaded


Guest Blas14

Question

Guest Blas14

Had this happen last night. 

Bases loaded 2 outs.  

Dropped 3rd.  Catcher tags hitter out running to first. 

Ump tells me runner from 3rd crossed plate before the hitter was tagged. So run counts.  

I didnt think we was right.  

 

Anyone have an answer?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

6 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1
12 minutes ago, Guest Blas14 said:

Had this happen last night. 

Bases loaded 2 outs.  

Dropped 3rd.  Catcher tags hitter out running to first. 

Ump tells me runner from 3rd crossed plate before the hitter was tagged. So run counts.  

I didnt think we was right.  

 

Anyone have an answer?

The guy pretending to be an ump was not correct. 

“Rule 5.08 How a Team Scores
(a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.“

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

I really don't think that it's a matter of managers "being afraid to protest".

I think it's a combination of: 1) Not knowing how the protest procedure is supposed to work, and; 2) Not being 100% sure of the rule themselves.

Then throw in all the leagues that don't allow protests, and all the tournaments that charge an exorbitant fee to lodge one, and it's no surprise that protests aren't correctly used more often.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...