Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest andrew

force out or not?

Question

Guest andrew

Situation: Runners on 1st and 2nd, batter hits the ball to shortstop. Shortstop throws to 1st base, gets the force out. The runner at first base came off the base when the ball was hit but didn't run to 2nd right away. Instead he waited for the runner to be thrown out at 1st, and then ran to 2nd. The 1st baseman threw the ball to 2nd, the 2nd baseman caught the ball with his foot on the base. The runner was called safe because the ump said it was not a force out because the batter running to 1st was thrown out first. 

So my question is: Does it matter that the batter got out first? Isn't it still a force out because the runner at 1st base has to abandon the base due to the batter running to 1st or does 1st base become available as soon as the batter is thrown out at 1st?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Umpire made the correct call. The force is removed the moment the batter/runner is out. Runner has the option to advance to 2nd or return to 1st at the risk of being tagged out whilst not in contact with either base.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Guest andrew said:

Situation: Runners on 1st and 2nd, batter hits the ball to shortstop. Shortstop throws to 1st base, gets the force out. The runner at first base came off the base when the ball was hit but didn't run to 2nd right away. Instead he waited for the runner to be thrown out at 1st, and then ran to 2nd. The 1st baseman threw the ball to 2nd, the 2nd baseman caught the ball with his foot on the base. The runner was called safe because the ump said it was not a force out because the batter running to 1st was thrown out first. 

So my question is: Does it matter that the batter got out first? Isn't it still a force out because the runner at 1st base has to abandon the base due to the batter running to 1st or does 1st base become available as soon as the batter is thrown out at 1st?

Think like this:  If the batter is out who is forcing the runner on 1B?  No one. Therefore no force.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...