Jump to content

Foul Tip vs. Foul "Trap"


Recommended Posts

2 minutes ago, Jimurray said:

Well MLB dropped the ball on the hard copy and the online rules. They did change it and NCAA followed. I can't do it now but two or three threads here expounded about it at the beginning of the year.

I know. I'm pretty sure one of the threads is mine. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

I'm at school now, and yes, it's been changed in OBR. The 2021 rule book/course manual we have reflects the change, and we covered it in class.  So to summarize, OBR and NCAA, sharp and direct to

If I'm not mistaken the definition of a Foul Tip was changed sometime before the season started. Now as long as it hits some part of the catcher, some part of the body or equipment, and is then secure

Foul ball. A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing he does not use his cap, protector, pocket or any othe

Posted Images

As weird as this season was, I'm not even sure dropping the ball is the right term. It's likely that they simply didn't care about publishing the rule book or updating the website. It's possible that most of that staff had been laid off too. 

 

Just checked mlb.com 2019 OBR is still the one hosted there

Link to post
Share on other sites
19 minutes ago, SJA said:

Is this what you're ref too: Official Baseball Rules: Home (umpirebible.com)

Rule 5.09(a)(2) Comment: "Legally caught" means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground. It is not legal if the ball lodges in his clothing or paraphernalia; or if it touches the umpire and is caught by the catcher on the rebound.

If a foul tip first strikes the catcher's glove and then goes on through and is caught by both hands against his body or protector, before the ball touches the ground, it is a strike, and if third strike, batter is out. If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the catcher's glove or hand first.

 

If I'm not mistaken the definition of a Foul Tip was changed sometime before the season started. Now as long as it hits some part of the catcher, some part of the body or equipment, and is then secured in the hand, hands, or mitt it is a foul tip. 

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, UMP45 said:

If I'm not mistaken the definition of a Foul Tip was changed sometime before the season started. Now as long as it hits some part of the catcher, some part of the body or equipment, and is then secured in the hand, hands, or mitt it is a foul tip. 

Correct. Welcome to the thread

  • Haha 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
12 hours ago, SJA said:

To the best of my knowledge and recently ref as of Dec 2020, it's what I posted above from WUS.

I have a buddy at HWUS as we speak.  That was the first picture he sent me.  They removed the "Hand or glove" verbiage.

 

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm at school now, and yes, it's been changed in OBR. The 2021 rule book/course manual we have reflects the change, and we covered it in class. 

So to summarize, OBR and NCAA, sharp and direct to any part of the catcher, and is legally caught 
(by the catcher). NFHS, sharp and direct to the glove or hand, and is legally caught.

  • Like 3
Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...