Jump to content
  • 0

Dropped Third Strike Mistake


Guest Kyle
Umpire-Empire locks topics which have not been active in the last year. The thread you are viewing hasn't been active in 2059 days so you will not be able to post. We do recommend you starting a new topic to find out what's new in the world of umpiring.

Question

Runner at first with two outs.  A dropped third strike occurs and the umpire mistakenly calls the batter out immediately, forgetting that first base occupied does not apply with two outs.  The batter ran to first anyways while the defense did not play the ball due to the umpire calling out.  After realizing his mistake, what is the umpire supposed to do? Does the out call stand for confusing the defense, or does the batter stay at first base as per the rules?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Answers 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

FED (generally HS) has a rule where the umpire can fix this -- the umpire decides "what would likely have happened" and makes it so.

 

Other codes just assume that the umpire will never make a mistake -- but I'd fix this in the same way that FED does.  If the umpire believes the defense would have made a successful play, call the batter out.  If the umpire believes the runners would have been safe, keep him safe.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


×
×
  • Create New...