Jump to content
  • 0

Infield fly?


Guest Jp40

Question

Last night we had an interesting play and I don’t think the umpire made the right call. The scenario is:

runners at 1st and 2nd with no outs   The batter hits a high fly ball that lands without being caught between the pitchers mound and 1st. Infield fly was not called. The runner at 2nd advances without tagging, and the runner at 1st doesn’t move. The fielders threw the ball to 3rd and the fielder stepped on the bag as the runner was approaching,no tag and threw it to the second baseman who stepped on the bag. The umpires after a discussion ruled that the runner at second was out at third and the runner on first, who never moved was out and put the batter on first with two outs. This isn’t even close to the right call is it?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
25 minutes ago, Guest Jp40 said:

Last night we had an interesting play and I don’t think the umpire made the right call. The scenario is:

runners at 1st and 2nd with no outs   The batter hits a high fly ball that lands without being caught between the pitchers mound and 1st. Infield fly was not called. The runner at 2nd advances without tagging, and the runner at 1st doesn’t move. The fielders threw the ball to 3rd and the fielder stepped on the bag as the runner was approaching,no tag and threw it to the second baseman who stepped on the bag. The umpires after a discussion ruled that the runner at second was out at third and the runner on first, who never moved was out and put the batter on first with two outs. This isn’t even close to the right call is it?

If they didn't feel it was an IFF, that is the correct call. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

You don't say what level of baseball you're talking about, but from what you describe it sounds like younger kids, nobody settled under the ball, therefore it's just an uncaught fly in the infield, forces at 3rd and 2nd are In play.

I ask about the age because an infield fly requires that and infielder be able to catch the ball with "ordinary effort" - which in practice usually means, for younger kids, they're able to get under a fly ball or at least in the neighborhood of it with ordinary effort. For older kids any fly ball within the grass should be an infield fly 99.9% of the time in my experience.

But either way, the infield fly is up to the judgement of the umpire, not appealable.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
18 hours ago, Guest Jp40 said:

Last night we had an interesting play and I don’t think the umpire made the right call. The scenario is:

runners at 1st and 2nd with no outs   The batter hits a high fly ball that lands without being caught between the pitchers mound and 1st. Infield fly was not called. The runner at 2nd advances without tagging, and the runner at 1st doesn’t move. The fielders threw the ball to 3rd and the fielder stepped on the bag as the runner was approaching,no tag and threw it to the second baseman who stepped on the bag. The umpires after a discussion ruled that the runner at second was out at third and the runner on first, who never moved was out and put the batter on first with two outs. This isn’t even close to the right call is it?

Though it's an infield fly scenario, the umpires still have to judge if the ball could be caught with ordinary effort.  In a, for example, 14U community ball game, where the fly ball is hit, and none of the fielders move to the ball, or display any reasonable capability to make the play, an umpire would be correct to not call an IFF and let the play proceed normally - even if it ends in a triple play.   The ball location you describe in the OP is what is commonly known as "no man's land" and it's very common at the younger/less-skilled levels for this type of hit to drop uncaught....untouched even.

Depending on the leagues and rule sets, often times the IFF rule doesn't even exist at the younger levels.

 

In the end, HTBT to ultimately see if I agree with the umpire's judgment (and that point it doesn't matter because it could go either way), but it is indeed his judgment, and if he judged it not an IFF then the end result and call are correct.

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

It's that "lands without being caught" part that throws a big wrench into us making a call here, on an internet discussion forum, without seeing the play.

Was it not caught because it wasn't routinely catchable? Was a fielder trying to get to the ball, but just couldn't get there in time? Did any fielders even make an attempt to reach the ball? Was a fielder camped under it, but missed it?

Any of those might help us to form the judgment that is necessary to make this call. And that's really a key to making an infield fly call. As already pointed out, the umpire must judge that the ball could have been caught with ordinary effort. We don't have any way of knowing that from the description provided.

 

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...