Jump to content
Gfoley4

Detached equipment

Recommended Posts

This is from many years ago.  iirc (and I might just be making this up), there was another instance shortly before this where it wasn't called and the offense argued, or it got some press after the game, etc. -- so the umpires were on edge about this type of play for a while.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

506 (b)(3)(E)

Each runner, without liability to be put out, may advance one base when:

A fielder deliberately touches a pitched ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person. The ball is in play, and the award is made from the position of the runner at the time the ball was touched. 

In both videos the plate ump calls time. Should they have?

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

34 minutes ago, Sut'n Blue said:

506 (b)(3)(E)

Each runner, without liability to be put out, may advance one base when:

A fielder deliberately touches a pitched ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person. The ball is in play, and the award is made from the position of the runner at the time the ball was touched. 

In both videos the plate ump calls time. Should they have?

Play was sufficiently relaxed in both (I didn't realize that there were two videos until this -- I thought someone just embedded the link from the OP) that time could be called to make the awards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Boston Globe website today has an entry on this, writer Alex Speier (a pretty good one) gives a clear explanation and even corrected the commentators that referred to this as a balk. Just nice to see someone caring about getting it right. Vazquez admitted after the game he had never heard of this rule, seems crazy to me.

Video looks like plate umpire was a bit too excited to call this and called time, I believe this is one of those things you point at and see what happens. What should the verbal call be? It isn't interference or obstruction as defined.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, pnewton said:

Video looks like plate umpire was a bit too excited to call this and called time, I believe this is one of those things you point at and see what happens. What should the verbal call be? It isn't interference or obstruction as defined.

Well, when it's INT we declare, "That's INT."

When it's OBS, we declare, "That's OBS."

So, when it's detached equipment, ...  ;)

 

And, if a runner had been advancing, then, yes, wait to see what happens.  If not, go ahead and call time.

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is this really a 2 base award in FED?  

c. two bases if a fair batted or thrown ball becomes dead because of bouncing over or passing through a fence, or lodges in a defensive player's or umpire's equipment or uniform; or if a live thrown ball:

1. including a pitch, is touched by an illegal glove or mitt, or by detached player equipment which is thrown, tossed, kicked or held by a fielder; or

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 minutes ago, zoops said:

Is this really a 2 base award in FED?  

Yes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, zoops said:

Gross.

That would be 144 bases.  ;)

 

By rule, it was a two-base award in OBR -- only by reading some of the interp manuals (and these weren't as readily available as they are now) would an umpire know to award only one base.

  • Like 1
  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, pnewton said:

Vazquez admitted after the game he had never heard of this rule, seems crazy to me.

Did you see the spooked look on Vazquez's face, though? He knows he did it, he just likely didn't realize that there is/was a rule against it!

It's a shame... he's using a Force3 Defender. Right mask, wrong way to use it. ;)

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
20 hours ago, MadMax said:

It's a shame... he's using a Force3 Defender. Right mask, wrong way to use it. ;)

Lol... i did the exact same thing! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 hours ago, zoops said:

Is this really a 2 base award in FED?  

I actually had that this year. Ball 4 bounced, catcher blocked, ball went up in the air, catcher took mask off (yes, hockey style mask), ball bounced (on turf), catcher caught ball inside helmet. We awarded batter 2B. No arguments. Just a state of disbelief and bewilderment. 

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Let's say the catcher flings his mask off as most do and it contacts the ball, slowing it down or landing on top of the ball?  Still give the award?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
45 minutes ago, zoops said:

Let's say the catcher flings his mask off as most do and it contacts the ball, slowing it down or landing on top of the ball?  Still give the award?

A good umpire has already answered this question above.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 5/3/2018 at 1:55 PM, NorthTexasUmp said:

I actually had that this year. Ball 4 bounced, catcher blocked, ball went up in the air, catcher took mask off (yes, hockey style mask), ball bounced (on turf), catcher caught ball inside helmet. We awarded batter 2B. No arguments. Just a state of disbelief and bewilderment. 

I actually do not think that was the right ruling. I is a 1 base award from the base at time of pitch.. even though it was ball 4.. he still shouldn't have gotten 2nd.. that is like a pitched ball going in the dugout on ball 4.. still gets 1 base.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...