Jump to content
tankmjg24

Left handed pick off (with video)

Recommended Posts

I have him stepping towards home. Look where his foot ends up and the direction he runs off the mound. But thats just from a couple viewings on this angle.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, noumpere said:

Not only that, he stops with his foot before putting it back on the ground.

That's the obvious one. The ball is gone before the foot lands.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 minutes ago, jlutgen0 said:

I definitely thought he got there before the tag too

But not before the call.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
50 minutes ago, CJK said:

But not before the call.

Pretty quick timing on that one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, maven said:

That's the obvious one. The ball is gone before the foot lands.

If it had landed where he held it it would have been good. That's a WTF balk.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, noumpere said:

 

And, the runner was safe at second.

How bout the call @ 3rd?  U1 was in B with R2. Safe by a mile!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gotta step ahead of the throw.  This is an elephant that must have tiptoed right past 2 umpires.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, grayhawk said:

Gotta step ahead of the throw.  

Does FED specify this?  6-2-4b (I think) says step and throw.  Are we to interpret that a step has to be made ahead of the throw?   OBR  is defined as states above. 

As far as the OP, I have a balk based on failing to deliver a pitch in one continuous motion and without interruption. 6-2-4d

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Tborze said:

Does FED specify this?  6-2-4b (I think) says step and throw.  Are we to interpret that a step has to be made ahead of the throw?

The rule is the same in all codes, and yes, "step and throw" means step and then throw. It's not a step until the foot lands.

Ordinarily, if it's bang-bang we will not be too technical about this. The idea also applies with F1 disengaging: technically, he's not disengaged until the foot lands. But we're not too technical when the pivot moves back and the arm feints at around the same time.

The move in the video confers a HUGE advantage on F1, and needs to be called every time at any level with balks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree that it is ugly, and while ugly does not always equate to balk, it sure does in this situation.  I had pretty much everything that you all said.  I wanted to confirm that my thought process was correct, and it was :nod:.  The field umpire is a first year guy, and this was literally his first game ever.  Weather has not been too good to us, and all of our on field scrimmages and training got snowed out (yes snow).  All of the training prior to this game was pretty much done in a classroom and indoor facility.  He has a very good athletic background and officiates other sports, so hopefully with time he catches on to baseball.    

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...