Jump to content
  • 0

Is this a balk?


mrumpiresir

Question

I've been curious about this for some time.  Is it a balk for left handed pitcher to bring his leg up to the balance point, not moving toward the plate, then step and throw to first?  Or does it violate the step directly to the base rule?  I think I've seen it called both ways.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=KFS3mtTBq7o

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Answers 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Days

Top Posters For This Question

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

An argument for/against a balk call in the youtube video pickoff can be made. Not for the leg raised as much for the immediate body direction (towards HP). I know I don't have a balk with me in 'B' on a 2-man crew...90% sure no balk as PU either. 

The OP issue about LHP raising his non-pivot foot and balancing (hanging there) is a balk for not delivering without hesitation.  But that's not what was in the you tube video.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

The issue in the video is not a hanging leg, but a step to the plate. Watch 0:45-0:55.

It's extremely tight, as he's very close to the 45°. His body pretty clearly moves toward the plate, and I'm leaning balk on that one, but i can see why they passed.

As a general rule, if we need replays, angles, and slow motion to detect a violation, we should leave it alone. True in all sports.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...