Jump to content
  • 0

Balk


UmpCoach

Question

I am 99% sure these 2 scenarios are balks, but want a confirmation on this.

Scenario #1: Runner on 1st Base. Right handed pitcher in the Windup position. Pitcher raises hands but steps off the rubber with his RIGHT FOOT (which would be the legal foot to step off in any other situation).....then hoping to have the runner take off to 2nd Base. This is a BALK correct? Just by the pitcher raising his hands means he has starting to deliver the pitch Home. Also the pitcher cannot simulate a windup as well even though he steps off with the legal foot.....correct?

Scenario #2: Runner on base and the Pitcher is straddling the Rubber and as he is straddling the rubber he gets in the "set" position to make it look like he is actually set.....this is a BALK as well. Correct?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Answers 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Days

Top Posters For This Question

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
  1. As described, I agree, this would be a balk. The motion of both hands commits F1 to pitch when in the windup, so when he steps off instead that's a start/stop balk.
  2. This is not a balk: it's a "don't do that." The balk rule does have a provision for ruling the balk when F1 simulates a pitch, but that does not apply to simulating a set.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
1 hour ago, maven said:
  1. As described, I agree, this would be a balk. The motion of both hands commits F1 to pitch when in the windup, so when he steps off instead that's a start/stop balk.
  2. This is not a balk: it's a "don't do that." The balk rule does have a provision for ruling the balk when F1 simulates a pitch, but that does not apply to simulating a set.

2. I would balk that.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
Guest ftb2ss

#1 is not a balk as long as he separates his hands after his step-off.  From the wind-up a pitcher may do 3 things, pitch, pick-off or step off.  Wind-up position requires both hands to be holding the ball in-front of the pitcher.  What commits the pitcher to pitch from the wind-up is the motion of the non-pivot towards home.  OBR 5.07(a)(1) Comment provides the information for the rule.

#2 is a balk, simulating a pitch while not engaged with the rubber is an attempt to deceive the runner, it is a balk.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
36 minutes ago, Guest ftb2ss said:

#1 is not a balk as long as he separates his hands after his step-off.  From the wind-up a pitcher may do 3 things, pitch, pick-off or step off.  Wind-up position requires both hands to be holding the ball in-front of the pitcher.  What commits the pitcher to pitch from the wind-up is the motion of the non-pivot towards home.  OBR 5.07(a)(1) Comment provides the information for the rule.

# 1 is a balk.  Once the pitcher starts his motion he is committed to deliver the pitch.  If he is going to step off the rubber he must do it prior to any motion associated with his delivery.

5.08 (a)

(1) The Windup Position
The pitcher shall stand facing the batter, his pivot foot in contact with the pitcher’s plate and the other foot free. From this position any natural movement associated with his delivery of the ball to the batter commits him to the pitch without interruption or alteration. He shall not raise either foot from the ground, except that in his actual delivery of the ball to the batter, he may take one step backward, and one step forward with  his free foot. When a pitcher holds the ball with both hands in front of his body, with his pivot foot in contact with the pitcher’s plate and Rule 5.07(a) 34 his other foot free, he will be considered in the Windup Position.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
Guest ftb2ss

To clarify if your saying the hand motion was after he "set" in his wind-up and after taking signs his 1st motion was his hands moving in his normal pitching motion then I agree that is a balk.  I initially read the OP that his hands where coming together before the "set" wind-up position.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
1 hour ago, Guest ftb2ss said:

#1 is not a balk as long as he separates his hands after his step-off.  From the wind-up a pitcher may do 3 things, pitch, pick-off or step off.  Wind-up position requires both hands to be holding the ball in-front of the pitcher.  What commits the pitcher to pitch from the wind-up is the motion of the non-pivot towards home.  OBR 5.07(a)(1) Comment provides the information for the rule.

#2 is a balk, simulating a pitch while not engaged with the rubber is an attempt to deceive the runner, it is a balk.

The bolded is not correct. PBUC/MiLBUM/MLBUM allow the OBR pitcher in the windup to start with arms apart, bring them together to a stop, then continue windup arm motion while initiating motion to plate. He can start with arms apart and bring his arms together in a windup motion without stopping as he initiates his motion to the plate. He can start with arms apart and not bring them together but raise them as a windup motion while initiating his motion to the plate. Initiating his motion is usually associated with movement of another body part, normally the free leg.

But a windup pitcher can also just rear back and throw without any windup as long as the umpire does not perceive it as a QP

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...