Jump to content
  • 0

Mr.


Guest James Dahlke

Question

Guest James Dahlke

Men's fastpitch.  2 out, runner on first.  Shift to the first base side so SS is near 2nd base.  Medium speed ground ball hit to the 1st base side of 2nd.  SS fields cleanly and while throwing to 1st collides with the runner from 1st.  Neither player intended the collision.  Ball is uncaught, runner recovers from the collision and goes to second.   I called interference since the collision caused the errant throw.  There was contention that there should have been no call.   Thank you  JFD

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Answers 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
50 minutes ago, Guest James Dahlke said:

Men's fastpitch.  2 out, runner on first.  Shift to the first base side so SS is near 2nd base.  Medium speed ground ball hit to the 1st base side of 2nd.  SS fields cleanly and while throwing to 1st collides with the runner from 1st.  Neither player intended the collision.  Ball is uncaught, runner recovers from the collision and goes to second.   I called interference since the collision caused the errant throw.  There was contention that there should have been no call.   Thank you  JFD

There was interference the moment the runner collided with the fielder.  Ball is dead at that point. Runner is out. What happened with the throw doesn't matter.

Why would anyone think otherwise?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

If fastpitch has the same rule as baseball, the fielder has (virtually) absolute right of way on a batted ball. Intent of the runner is irrelevant: he is required to avoid hindering the fielder (which can but need not involve contact).

The ball is dead, the runner is out, and other runners must return. Depending on the code and situation, a second out might be part of the penalty.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...